We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over 50 visits and still very hit and miss on service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“over 50 visits and still very hit and miss on service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have eaten here over 50 times since it opened; mainly in the restaurant but a few lunches in the lounge also. This is a relaxed hotel and as such you don't expect 5* service. However, in the lounge area you are going to have to take your luck. The main problem appears to be the total lack of management. You will often walk into the hotel, take a seat in the lounge and 15 minutes later will still not have see a sole other than an apparently highly stressed waiter/waitress. I have seen as many people come and go as I have stay.

The restaurant is s different story. The service is chaotic but attentive and the food as you would expect for the price.

The conclusion is that if you want to be "looked after" then I would avoid the lounge at least until they have a proper management structure in place. Why are the staff assigned areas? However, if you want a decent Sunday lunch in a pleasing venue then you won't go wrong.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JE_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is the best hotel in Cheltenham. The rooms are very high spec. My room had both a bathtub and walk in shower with ipod in the room. Only let down is no gym or swimming pool. Location is excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chiraag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here with my wife & both experiences have been excellent. This time we had a feature room - number 007 no less (!) - spacious & comfortable & the hotel bar vibe is very relaxed - ideal after a night out. We enjoyed the cocktails - no Martini's despite the room number (lol!), especially the Lit Festival based Tequilla Mockinbird - awesome!

Room Tip: Go for a feature room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely room - on the smaller side. Everything worked. Bar was lovely with a staff who engaged well with a nice cocktail list.
Dinner absolutely disappointing - menu was unappealing, would have been more suited for a gastropub. Given the place tries to be high tech with ipads and ipods everywhere you would think they could update the wine list easily. Asked for 3 different wines and got told that they did not have any. Would I stay again - if it was on a deal. Would I eat again - no. Expensive for what it turned out to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanyal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I came to this hotel for one night recently.
The first thing that gave me a clue of what was to come was that I struggled to find the reception desk. Or should I say Reception Egg.
The staff all wore Converse All Star sneekers. There was art all around the place and, come the evening, there was "interesting" music piped through the public rooms.
I like all this, because it is non-corporate, but it just felt a bit too contrived.
It would have been better if they had dressed the open fire places, and been a little more welcoming upon arrival.
Nevertheless I liked the large TV in the room, the bathroom and the comfy bed.
It is easy to be critical. The fact is I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We knew we would be checking in late and leaving early so we went for the small rooms on the third floor and boy , was our room small ! Literally , we had to take it in turns to walk around the bed as there wasn't room for two . Nevertheless everything in the room worked ( tea/ coffee/bar/Tv) and was of a high standard . The bed was comfy and the unbelievably small shower room was in fact excellent with good task lighting over the mirror and a power shower . All was very clean . It was an example of just what can be achieved in a tiny space (but don't book third floor if you are claustrophobic !! ) Breakfast was one of the best cooked hotel breakfasts we've had and very reasonable ( about £9.00) with a good buffet and a chef cooking fresh .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentKritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went to the Chapter for an anniversary dinner recently, the setting was ok - but quite sterile and not any atmostphere at all. The food was good, service was a bit slow but all in all there is better in Cheltenham - Coco Bistro/Daffodil/Lumiere etc are all much much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandSarahY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing