We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Wedding Anniversary Celebrations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Golden Wedding Anniversary Celebrations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our children arranged a celebration lunch for our 50th Wedding Anniversary which turned out to be perfect.
We had a private room which really suited our party of 13 including 3 small children. The food which had been pre-ordered was excellent, and service was very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.
10 of our party stayed overnight in very comfortable rooms followed by an excellent breakfast.
All in all a very successful event. Thanks to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

As previous comments mentioned my daughter and I both burnt our bums on the heated towel rail!! Our party had 6 rooms and all we're very small with double beds so very cosy nights sleep!! The fittings were superb however, in the bathroom, shower first class. We had a private dining room downstairs which was lovely but the pre-ordered food was quite mediocre. The breakfast was superb though.

Room Tip: Ask to view your room as most are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Quite gimmicky and trendy boutique style hotel. Old building but nicely done out and imaginitely extended with very attractive rooms. Slightly unconventional as you walk in. No reception. Just staff walking around with laptops. Rooms are very nice. Lovely bathrooms. Krupps coffee machine in the room. Little fridge with milk, beer water and fizzy pop. Service needs a bit of attention. No one around to greet you as you enter restaurant. No obvious entrance to restaurant. Staff are mainly Polish. They are very pleasant and helpful but could do with a bit of training. £160 per night for B & B is not cheap. Overall not bad at all but with a bit of attention to detail, this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stallion20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We took a family table and a couple of rooms at the Montpellier Chapter for a family event. As there were 7/8 adults and 4/5 kids we were required to order in advance from a set menu which we did. The bar/lounge area is very nice and a popular venue for drinks and the other customers were friendly people who made room for us. However from the start it was fairly obvious that the staff didn't quite know what they were doing. We'd pre-ordered drinks and the waiter then came and took another order, much confusion. We were rushed to go in to eat and the menu fixe was pretty poor. The traditional roast-style dishes were what I'd call pub/school standard and served with no vegetables. An older member of the party asked for some vegetables to go with the meat and gravy and was told pretty abruptly that this wasn't going to happen. I hover between describing the waiter as 'abrupt' or just plain damned rude, but let's be charitable. We enquired whether the waiter was 'serious' and a dish of nice vegtables then turned up some while later. A paupiette of seabass with shellfish stuffing was heavy and characterless and we sneaked envious looks at the neighbouring diners who were ordering a la carte. To be fair, the a la carte food looked considerably better than the menu fixe but the menu fixe wasn't the only culinary disaster. The breakfast chef couldn't make an omlette. It went back three times and was hopeless. It came as a slab of hard yellow. You do not need to be Michel Roux to make an omlette.The wine list is fairly overpriced and the fact that it comes on a trendy iPad by someone wearing US sneakers doesn't obscure that fact. The building is a glorious Cheltenham regency wedding cake and there is a lovely conservatory overlooking a magnificent neo-classical terrace of town houses. So they are doing some things right but the staff need a real big infusion of London-style efficiency. There are hotels here in the Cotswolds that really get the service right - for example Cowley Manor, just down the road from Cheltenham. So for the time bing my suggestion is to stop off for a drink but there are plenty of better places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhodriMawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I took a small group of senior business people for a meeting, dinner and overnight stay. They are a discerning bunch so I am always concerned about whether a venue is going to please. They were absolutely bowled over by the Montpellier. One said that he wanted me to organise a meeting there at least once a year. The décor is relaxed and stylish. There is the best collection of books in the lounge - I could stay there forever reading them. We had a working buffet lunch which was ample and delicious. Dinner in the evening was very good. But the best thing about the hotel is the staff who are ALL attentive, friendly but professional. The beds are very, very comfortable and I loved having hotel info on an iphone.

Room Tip: Personally, I would choose Superior and above as the standard rooms are a little on the tight size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

A truley superb hotel and we know, having stayed in hundreds of top class ones throughout the world. The check in was very friendly and efficient and the room a perfect love nest. The dry martinis from the bar were great: almost as good as I make myself! Definitely going back. Decor in the public areas is really lovely.

Room Tip: Just ask reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajumblie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Fantastic location, stunning building, wonderful decor, amazing rooms, good restaurant and pretty good service too. We were having a terrible time at a nearby hotel (that had had amazing reviews in TRipAdvisor) and I did some research and thought we would try this place. I have to say the reviews I read of the Montpellier Chapter were mixed. Having now stayed there, I cannot understand why they were not all glowing. So, details: just an amazing place to walk into; all wood floors and tasteful decor. A library with every new book you could want to read; relaxing tables to sit and have a drink. Utter bliss (though the bar snacks were not great - but hey, I'm picky!). Anyway, the rooms are very Scandiwegian. Wall-to-wall windows, dark wood furniture, great bed and bedding, Nespresso coffee machine in the room, rainforest shower, in-room iPod controller for the tech lovers, and my partner commented on the quality of the shampoos n the bathroom. She was amazed to find them in a hotel, but I cant recall the name. Anyway, bottom line, it was great. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. Really delicious food, clever menu, though the service in the restaurant was not as good as in the hotel (Not sure what it was, but somehow all the male staff seemed slightly surly, but the female staff were so friendly). Anyway, overall it was fabulous, and I would heartily recommend it to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apuldram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing