We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!! Cosy Trendy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the equally delightful, Magdalen Chapter in Exeter we had high expectations of our stay at the Montpellier Chapter in Cheltenham Spa. We weren't disappointed.

Beautifully restored building formally used as accommodation for Cheltenham ladies college this delightful hotel has lots to offer its guests. Free wifi throughout, common areas are relaxing, warm and comfortable with open fires adding to the atmosphere. We stayed in a 2nd floor double which despite being a little small was very well equipped and thoughtfully laid out. Nespresso machines, iPods and flat screen TVs are standard in each room and the complimentary mini bar with water, lager, soft drinks and fresh milk, is a nice touch. Lighting is well thought out with switches in all the places you need them. Subtle bathroom night lighting is always a sign that some careful thought has gone into guest comfort. Switches and plugs on each side of the bed meant no scrabbling around looking for phone charge points or wandering around trying to find that elusive light switch.

The breakfast, which was part of our room rate was superb. A buffet selection of cold items followed by a set menu with a large selection of freshly prepared hot food. The breakfast chef's workstation is part of the dining room so you know it's cooked to order.

The bar is equally good with lots of areas to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. We sampled the bar snack menu and again couldn't fault the food or the service.

Staff were attentive and friendly throughout our stay and contrary to some of the recent reviews on here we had no problems whatsoever with service.

The hotel has a slightly odd approach to twin rooms, I understand that there aren't many of them and because they are larger than the doubles attract a higher room rate.

All in all a superb weekend away in a beautiful hotel and gorgeous spa town.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tonyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in November when visiting family in the area. We were upgraded to a very smart room... Roll top bath in middle of floor. I have not watched Strictly from the bath before.
Very good service, excellent cocktails, good value lunch and dinner menus and very comfortable lounge areas.
We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was just a one night stay, but I saw enough to think that this hotel wasn't as good as before.
Positives: very stylish, both in the communal areas and the rooms, breakfast was good, but I thought the staff were a bit surly. Nice touch that the mini bar was complimentary, very comfy bed, REN products in the bathroom. The drinks menu in the bar is very good.
Negatives: the shower smelt of mould, the bedroom side light wouldn't turn off properly ( this was a known issue as there was some tape over it to make it less bright ), there was a flashing red light in the bathroom.

The hotel is very nicely located though and I would definitely stay again, but it needs to deal with some issues, won't take much to get things "right".

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank browny0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for a quick get away after christmas. The hotel is beautiful and has some great features. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

We were greeted by a very freindly receptionist who directed us straight to our room. I really like the fact that this hotel has gone digital and have i pods for ypu to navigate the services the hotel provide.

We booked in the restaurant on the first night and was greeted very professionaly by a member of the bar staff who took us through to the restaurant. When he asked the restaurant girl where we were seated she responded if theres only two of them just put them in the garden room which irritated me straight away with her attitude. The bar man took us to our table and got us a bottle of water. Our waitress did not arrive for another 20 minutes then bought no drinks menu which i had to ask for. Food was ok but service was very very slow.

Thinking it was just a bad night for them we went for breakfast the next morning and the service was even worse. It took ages to be seen by the waiter and then even longer for our breakfast to come with no toast even though i asked 3 times! Other guests were also complaining about the poor service. In the end we just left.

If you want a nice hotel this is lovely however i would avoid the restaurant and breakfast if you want decent service unless of course they get their act together soon!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MidlandsKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel facilities are OK but service is really poor!! We had no heating in the room (in January!) and they didn't even bother to come up and fix it - or give us another room despite multiple calls. The REN spa is average too - treatments are shorter than expected and are not worth the money! And service at the restaurant is terrible - they rush you through your meal, mix up the wine and never bother to smile. I guess it used to be a nice hotel but that was long ago..!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monthypython
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

booked for wife's birthday treat. room was a feature room...ok but a little odd walking through your bathroom to get out the room but nicely appointed and stylish. milk in fridge was off!!!
We booked dinner in the restaurant, very average food indeed, and for 100 pound for the to not cheap. prawn cocktail was made using the same micro frozen prawns my nan used to use, pigeon starter Comprised of 3 small rubbery slices. at 8pm we were told that they had run out of ribeye steak, then wife's food when did arrive was cold.
Breakfast was another calamity, open mutiny from guests and cooks as the non exist ant waiting staff left plates piling up on the pass. It took 45 mins to get a warmish plate of food, no toast. Loads of people complained ...terrible

So best stay clear, very disappointed with this hotel...the cheaper Queens Hotel down the road was even better when comparing the two.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our children arranged a celebration lunch for our 50th Wedding Anniversary which turned out to be perfect.
We had a private room which really suited our party of 13 including 3 small children. The food which had been pre-ordered was excellent, and service was very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.
10 of our party stayed overnight in very comfortable rooms followed by an excellent breakfast.
All in all a very successful event. Thanks to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £73 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing