We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've stayed in Cheltenham a few times and tried a few different hotels. We tend to want to divide our time between wandering around the Montpellier district, the shops and occasionally venturing out into the Cotswolds. The location is excellent and free parking means we could come and go as we pleased.

For this stay we had a Deluxe room and it didn't disappoint. Very comfortable bed, inclusive mini bar, bath and a shower and excellent air conditioning. The room has an iPod Touch installed that has a whole load of information in the Chapter Hotel App. If I had to be picky I would say the lighting system is a little complex and took a few attempts to master, but a minor detail. Sound proofing was excellent.

Free wi-fi throughout the hotel (I downloaded an HD film in about 10 minutes) and free newspapers at breakfast.

Cannot comment on the restaurant as we ate elsewhere (just because there were specific restaurants we wanted to visit), but breakfast was excellent, varied and the service was good.

Not cheap (I've spent less on the main suite in the Queen's Hotel around the corner), but overall excellent and recommended.

Room Tip: One of the 10 deluxe rooms on the ground floor are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are looking for a well thought out non branded hotel this will be for you. The owners have taken the time to think of each and every detail to make your stay perfect.

If it is the iPod installed in each and every room or the individual coffee machines which actually make good coffee! To the amount of toiletries in the bathroom, I found this hotel so personable.

We were luckily to be upgraded which meant we were on the ground floor in a lovely bay window bedroom. The bed was too comfortable and nearly made us late for breakfast.

The only thing I didn't really enjoy was the breakfast not a huge selection for vegetarians and why is it hotels cannot serve hot toast!

You don't have to eat in the hotel as a short walk is adorned with restaurants and bars.

I would love the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here overnight on business recently. I ate elsewhere so can't comment on the restaurant (although breakfast was fine). The stay was so - so. The building is impressive - a large, spacious period house with a tasteful modern extension. The decor was probably original once but the taupe / grey paint and funky artworks looked a bit cliched to me. The main letdown though was the room - tiny ! The bed was in an alcove, with space only down one side, and even then too narrow to walk down, so I had to get into bed by crawling from the foot to the head. Worse, the side against the wall was the side I normally sleep on, and rolling over in the night I banged my head. This was room 227, and I think I was maybe unlucky because colleagues seemed to have more space.

In line with the relaxed, modern feel there is no formal reception, just staff with laptos in the lobby. This is fine when its not busy, but doesnt work at 8.00 in the morning when there is a rush to leave. My colleague had to wait for 10 mintutes.

So overall not bad, but if you're staying in Cheltenham I'd go for the Hotel du Vin, just around the corner, or if you dont need a restaurant, the Townhouse.

Room Tip: Avoid room 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkshire_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a night at the Montpellier Chapter and were looked after exceptionally well by the team. The room was very modern in its design and layout, which we liked and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a nice lunch on our arrival and felt the prices were not over the top. We could not find fault and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

During a shopping visit we decided to have lunch here due to its reasonably close proximity to the town centre.

It’s located in a quiet area of Montpelier and has a comfortable terrace alongside the contemporary restaurant to enjoy lunch or a drink in the sun, which we did.

The food and service was very good and nothing appeared too much trouble for the helpful staff, especially when half way during our lunch the sun disappeared and we asked to be moved indoors. This was no trouble at all.

The fixed price lunch menu which contained a good choice of courses, represented really good value and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I had wanted to visit for ages and them, by chance, we popped in for lunch (we hadn't booked) The staff were great, friendly and welcoming. We sat outside for cocktails (delicious - highly recommended, I had the Virgin Mojito and my husband had a Mint Julep) We ordered lunch but then the sun went in and it became chilly! Nothing was too much trouble and the fab staff relocated us inside. The decor is very contemporary and the ambiance in the restaurant was great. The loos are amazing!
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyacinth_Bucket_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here as a last minute birthday celebration recently after seeing it on several boutique booking sites.

The hotel gave a great welcome - warm staff and the communal areas and general design of the hotel was a lovely mix of traditional and contemporary styling. There's lots to see if you are an art fan.

We requested a room with a bath and the extra ££ was worth it - very romantic. The bed was huge and fabulous and there were lots of Ren products to wallow in. A cute mini bar featuring beers, fresh milk and a diet coke was included in the price, as was breakfast.

The Breakfast menu was ok (nb it finishes at 10.30am on a Sunday which we think is a little early) but service was chaotic, seemingly because there are so many staff and no organisation.
Dinner was the same - four different waiters/waitresses served us, we waited ages for drinks, sides weren't delivered or were wrong and we were a bit underwhelmed with the food: the veggie options especially seemed to be a bit of an afterthought. Everyone had an iPad to take orders but there wasn't much attention paid to the customers.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but would recommend going elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0niJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing