We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well done”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is only my 2nd trip advisor review but i have found the ones read useful, so i am always honest in mine, although only 1 night stay this hotel & staff could not be better they went out of their wayto accommodate us, we arrived earlier than check in time however were shown to our room which was huge and welll equiped, they offered information on where to go, directions, taxis, attractions etc, we were meeting with friends and they were in agreement with our choice of eating places [despit having own resturant] On arriving back latish we enjoyed great welcome from the staff and od service.,we had a couple of drinks in thehotel bar before retiring to bed, the bed was very comfy and big, it cannot be classed as a negative but it was extreamly warm. the breakfast and welcome was great well cooked good choice couldnt be faulted, we checked out asked if we could leave our car in the carpark, 'no problem' was the reply from the management, would highly recommend and return, well done Clarence Court and staff.

Room Tip: one we had was good 2nd floor over warm but end of Dec a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    156
    42
    18
    13
See reviews for
96
251
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had the cheaper of the double rooms. It was small, but had a hardwood bed and furniture. It's located within a short walk to the town centre and we were served a massive and really well cooked breakfast. The parking spaces are really tight - so avoid taking the Volvo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here overnight to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was perfect in every way! Room 14 had the wow factor. Each room has a teddy bear sitting on the bed as a room guard. Great little personal touch and we just had to purchase one!!!!! Joules restaurant in the basement was great too. I can honestly say hand on heart we could not find any fault here and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetJones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Well, where do I start?? the hotel is opposite a very quaint park and is within easy walking distance from the main high street shops, bars and restaurants.

We arrived late and the reception was closed. After following the "If reception is closed, please ring the bell" instruction, within seconds we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. Check-in was quick and easy!

The hotel is amazzzing with very high ceilings and the feeling of grandeur. Upon opening the door to the room (room 16), we were in awe. It had a massive bed, two two-seater sofas, chest of drawers, wardrobe, table and the room still had plenty of space. The bathroom defies the age of the hotel by being immaculate and modern!

The bar downstairs is really pretty and comfortable and although we all fear hotel bar prices, we were pleasantly surprised that they were the "going rate".

Breakfast is an absolute treat!! if you have paid for it in your booking, DO NOT LIE IN BED!!!! it's superb and will set you up for the day! There's fruit, croissants, cereal, juice, and then to top it off is a full English breakfast!! The service was brilliant and the food piping hot!

Really people, don't just take my word for it . . . . try it . . . . you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

stayed for 2 nights at the hotel,we had room 2,which was very comfortable and clean,huge bed, a bit on the warm side,but an electric fan done the trick.great staff. malcolm and scott were both very helpful and polite,great service all round.food was excellent.will certainly be back for another stay.great hotel,great staff.

Room Tip: room 2 is on ground floor,room 18 overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodean04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Duddeston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

just spent the one night after a full-on day at the races! great rooms (we were comp'd up to a suite apartment across the square which was real luxury!) arrived early and arranged taxi to the races with Chris (very helpful) whilst waiting a nice old Irish fella tipped me the winner of the first race! 9-1! my day was made! comfy rooms, great breakfast, super location.
Pricey, but just about worth it i reckon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

stayed here in October lovely clean room, friendly staff, breakfast served fresh cooked, evening meals are BIG portions! i ended up having a starter as a main meal (that was great for me) food was lovely fresh cooked, compliments to the chef. booked again for next year because we enjoyed our stayed. looking forward to returning. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleclare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Property: Clarence Court Hotel
Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing