We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I booked this hotel mainly because of its great reviews here and felt it didn't quite live up to expectations.
I only stayed 1 night and didn't have a meal, the room and hotel generally was clean and of a good standard.
My bathroom looked very modern but the shower did not have any hot water! The heat controls were not very clear (typical for modern designs) but I tried every option and could not get the water to heat up. Having been out for a run I had no option but to have a cold shower and the messing around meant that I was too late to sample the breakfast! When I handed my key in I was not asked if I had enjoyed my stay or had any issues.
This is by no means a bad hotel and I am sure my experience is an isolated incident but I did feel it was worth putting some balance to the mostly positive reviews.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Mawfortyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Hi Mawfortyone

Thanks for your review. I am really sorry that we did not ask you if you enjoyed your stay when you checked out, this would be our normal standard and it would have really helped us to know which room you had the problem with in order that we could investigate further. We have recently updated our hot water supply and will certainly monitor this very carefully to indentify if this was an isolated incident or something which needs addressing. Regards Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Wonderful small hotel true to its origins and set in a quiet leafy square within a five minute walk of the centre. Friendly and helpful staff and superb food all freshly cooked to order. Rooms warm, spacious and clean with fabulously comfortable beds.
If you're contemplating a trip to Cheltenham, stay nowhere else but the Clarence Court!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are huge and with lovely views over the leafy square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimkinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife & I stayed there for 1 night and can honestley say that it was the best stay ever in a UK hotel!!
We were that impressed that we invited freinds to join us for an evening meal, Guess what- The food was supurb and the service was excellent too.
Everything from the room, to the quality of the food served for breakfast was great!!
We even felt sorry for some freinds who were stopping elsewhere in cheltenham over the same weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights oin September 2012. Booked via booking.com and received an immediate cal from hotel confirming type of room.

Good points:

We booked a superior double room and this was large and comfortable.
Bed super size and very comfortable
Bathroom mostly very clean
Breakfast was excellent for both days
Staff - helpful and friendly

Not so good:

Shower cublicle door would not shut properly and areas around sealant needed some attention. Some evidence of minor mould build-up. We mentioned this to the hotel management and they will sort this out.

Bar was often unmanned and needed a trip upstairs to reception to order a drink.

Without this - we would have given this hotel a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had two rooms at the Clarence Court on 14 September. As requested, one was on the ground floor to suit those members of a party who would have been challenged by the stairs. The upstairs room, looking over the square, was very nice indeed.

The hotel was clean throughout. Service was very friendly and responsive. The restaurant downstairs was also excellent, far exceeding expectations.

Parking immediately outside. A bit tricky to find, but that's a function of the one-way system than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for a short trip in Cheltenham and the hotel and staff were brilliant.
They were very welcoming with lots of local information for me and my partner.
The hotel is within walking distance to the town centre (5 mins or so) and also within a short walking distance of The Brewery (food and cinema place).
The rooms are very well kept and tastefully decorated. The TV's also play DVD's and there is a selection available in the reception for free.
Room (12) was large and the bed was too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitehousek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in August 2012. For the price, our room (room 19) was a little dissappointing. It was very hot the weekend we stayed and although the room had a fan, there was no air con and in addition our room seemed to have hot pipes under the carpet which resulted in our room being hotter than the temperature outside - most uncomfortable to sleep in!

We were very tired following a long journey but were kept awake late into the night by the sound of someone stacking the tables and chairs from the restaurant and then chaining them together. The sound of the chain being looped through every single table and chair seemed to go on forever. The second night was quieter. The beds were very comfy actually, although l hate two large singles that have been bolted together and then called a 'King'.

The tea/coffee provision was measley and there was no complimentary water in the room. The bathroom was TINY and surpirisingly there was no hand soap provided. There was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom. The shower had a soap dish that was raised in the middle and designed in a way that prevented you storing the little complimentary shower gel bottles etc on it - quite mad! The shower had no door/curtain meaning it could be considered a 'wet room' but in reality meant that in the course of a normal shower, water went everywhere. Horrible plastic cups wrapped in film were also provided. Breakfast the first day was swimming with grease but was better on the second day.

On a positive note the staff were very pleasant (particulary the lovely man from Canada) and both the room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is located near some nice green parks/lakes and we used it as a good base to tour the Coltswolds. Nice selection of free dvd's to borrow from reception and the staff were very helpful. Overall if the price had been lower l would have been satisfied, but as it was - not good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 19 overlooks the car park and is very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Miss Turrell

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your room, I do wish that you had made us aware of this in order that we could have tried to remedy any issues.

I am glad that you found the beds comfortable, we do use zip and link beds and I agree that if not managed properly then you will feel a join in the mattresses, because of this we do bolt them together and we use thick luxury toppers so that you can not feel the join of the mattresses when they are sold as a king-sized bed.

I am sorry that the tea and coffee provided was not sufficient we would happily have given you more if you had requested it. I am afraid we do not advertise or offer air-conditioning or complimentary mineral water. We introduced the plastic glasses about 6 months ago as we had a number of glasses broken in sinks which was dangerous for both guests and housekeeping, personally I do not like the plastic but we have had positive feedback and yours in the first negative comment about them. We will continue to review this.

Lastly I have noted your comment about value, you booked through lastminute who take a large commission from us so the price we were paid was far smaller than you paid because of this we increase the price to agents to cover the commission we pay, to all readers PLEASE PLEASE book direct for the best price!!

Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £67 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing