We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beaumont House(Cheltenham)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
353
174
43
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
174
43
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoules restaurantquiet squaretown centreteddy beartop floorno liftsteep stepshappily stay here againlovely hotelhigh ceilingssuperior roomcar parkgave us a mapshort walklarge roomfull englishbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed two nights and loved it.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food in the restaurant was plentiful and delicious!

The room was comfortable with a nice bathroom although being on the top floor nearly killed my mum!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was very central with easy access to the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Animal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed as part of a long-standing reunion. Had stayed at Queens before but very pricey.
Beautiful building on side of Clarence Park-not easy to find but good directions on hotel website.

Greeting-friendly and professional
Lunchtime Bar-friendly (Ben)-great cookies!
Lounge area-comfortable
Room-very good-comfortable-good size-newly done bathroom with Rainfall shower and Waterfall taps.
Food in evening-Reasonably priced and good value-not gourmet but very well appreciated
Service-Gentleman from Canada perhaps needs to talk less and serve/listen more but overall acceptable
Breakfast-Excellent food and very friendly natural service

Looking forward to going back next year

Room Tip: Not really able to help but ours was Room 12 and excellent
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

From first contact, the staff were helpful, and thoughtful, attentive and pleasant. They went out of their way to make everything comfortable and easy, from arranging suitable rooms, to delaying lunch when some of the party were held up. The food was delicious - and we are fussy eaters with eclectic tastes! The rooms were spotless, and very pleasant, and we found them very comfortable. Huge beds, tastefully arranged furnishings - our large double made a very good sitting room as well. The location is charming, and quiet on an elegant old square. It is a hotel for the phsically able however - there are unavoidable stairs. Still, my 94 year old mother managed them in her killer heels! We thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, ambience, cooking and care. Even the soap was excellent. My mother has stayed in hotels from Bali to Cairo to Samarkand, and she rates it highly enough to want go back next year, for her 95th birthday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the square have a delightful view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tachwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just two nights we stayed here.... but we would definately use this Hotel again.
It overlooks a quiet square, has free parking, free wireless internet, and we stayed in Room 18 on the first floor, which had been recently refurbished. It had a few noisy souls walking past our window a couple of times after we had gone to bed but otherwise very quiet. Great position in that you can walk into the Town Centre in about 10 minutes. The breakfast was buffet style with your hot breakfast order coming directly from the kitchen, served by friendly staff. Definately stay here again on another Cheltenham visit.

Room Tip: The first floor should be a better option than Rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor, although there is no lift if you have heavy luggage.| Our room on the first floor, ovelooked the Square( Room 18), recently refurbished, not my favourite colors, golds and purples, but at least it was fresh and clean with a good bathroom and very comfortable bed. If you enjoy sleeping with the window open for fresh air, you can hear some noisy partygoers walking along the pavement but that was only a couple of times, otherwise really quiet. The stairs looked quite steep and narrow up to the next floor difficult if you have heavy luggage
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My room was clean and bed comfortable. I had a double room but it didn't leave much space. The television on the wall was smaller than I would have expected. Wifi was free and good quality. The furniture was a bit tired. Good lighting in the room. The bathroom was quite small with just a shower. The breakfast was down in a basement room. I enjoyed the breakfast although the coffee could be improved. And I should have asked them not to use vinegar when cooking poached eggs - I hate the taste of vinegar at breakfast. It cost £79 for the night. Service was friendly and location very good. Parking easy. In the end an average place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flim187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay and the room was comfortable. You booked a Small double room and these are exactly 'what they say on the tin'. When people book direct we advise that these rooms are more than adequate for a one or two night stay and offer good value for money but if you would like more space we suggest a standard double which has more space with a queen sized bed rather than double bed or a superior double with more space again, soft seating and king sized bed. Regards Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews