We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently booked for two nights and what a gem of a hotel the Clarence is. The room was huge, sparkly clean and nicely decorated. The beds were like sleeping on clouds and are the most comfortable we have slept on while at a hotel. The staff are attentive and professional and make you feel that no request is too much trouble. We ate both evenings at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was outstanding. Breakfast was cooked to order and the quality of the meat was excellent. The hotel overlooks a park and is a short stroll away from the centre of Cheltenham. We will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: We booked room 22 which is the deluxe and well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

A cosy, comfortable (and dog-friendly) hotel, with hardworking and friendly staff.
The building has character and is nicely located just out of the real hustle & bustle of the city centre. A small, pleasant park is literally 20 steps away. Our room was everything we wanted for a two-day stay; really, you'd have to be very picky indeed to find any fault.
We ate like kings: plentiful portions and - more to the point - good quality food, well prepared.
We were allowed to take our dog down to the lounge, which we appreciated.
I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The location was excellent with only a 5 minute walk into town. A very friendly welcome from whom we assume is the owner. We were up graded without asking and enjoyed the four poster bed. Hotel seemed clean ( we are not fussy folk) and whilst the decor was a bit tired, we see it as charm. If you are looking for a sanitised, modern hotel, this is not for you. We ate out so can't comment on dinner, however the breakfast was very good. Had we stayed for 2 nights we would have selected individual breakfast items as there was just too much to eat. We would certainly use the Clarence again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaandEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights during the Literature Festival. The staff were excellent, very helpful. Good location on a quiet square with an easy walk into town. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was good but the water went hot and cold so a shower wasn't the easiest experience. Would stay here again next time I'm in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoxyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arriving to find a small and slightly awkward car park, any concerns were dispelled when we were met by a very welcoming front desk. We were showed to our room (deluxe ground floor) and we were amazed by the size and grandeur! The staff gave us a map of Cheltenham which we were very grateful of throughout the day. Back to a quiet hotel after a long day/night out to find a lovely warm and well stocked bar for a late drink. The next day we had a lovely and very generous breakfast, easy check out and off on our way! Would recommend - great location for exploring and great welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

stayed here 3 nights, really enjoy staying here staff are friendly, food is lovely, bed is sooo comfy and big, with duck down quilts and pillows :) booked for next October already! :) looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleclare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this well located hotel, very lose to the centre of Cheltenham but also in a quiet square. Plenty of parking spaces, nice bar area, good food and Scott who met us is a professional, friendly witty guy who makes you instantly at ease which is rare. We were on the ground floor but he was happy to help with luggage. As for our bed in a standard double, great mattress, as I would imagine all are, definitely not a squeak in sight! Would be good if trip advisor would devise a system for the hotel stays by a code given by the hotel so that you would get genuine reviews from people who have actually stayed there. All amenities and services are listed on hotel site and it is a beautiful place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janusxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £72 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing