We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely room with ensuite, comfortable bed, very clean. Hotel staff very friendly, kindly arranged an early breakfast as I had to leave early. Fantastic value for money, price comparable to staying in a budget hotel chain (and it was much nicer!)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank chloe3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Clarence Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent three nights at the Clarence Court hotel, in a superior room which was large, pleasantly decorated , with a comfortable super -king sized bed and overlooking the small park in front of the hotel. We were especially impressed by the friendly, warm atmosphere, the efficiency of the delightful staff and overall ambience. Relaxing bar areas where one can enjoy pre-dinner drinks are just outside the dining room where we enjoyed good, well presented food that was clearly freshly cooked to order. Walking distance from Montpelier and the pump Rooms etc. and superb for visiting The Cotswolds. We will certainly return , as we promised the wonderful manager !

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a lovely view of park.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makepeaceju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We usually stay at Butlers but booked Clarence Court for a last minute trip as Butlers was full. Having booked 2 single rooms, we were upgraded on arrival to small doubles.

Rooms were very comfortable, with good bathrooms and breakfast was also tasty. However, the hotel lacked the personal touch we find at Butlers.

The off street parking is a rarity in Cheltenham but may be a little tight when the hotel is full.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyflyer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Booked their family room for one night away with my wife and two children (9 and 12). Extremely friendly hotel, very clean room with one enormous double bed and two double sofa beds which the children loved. Clean and spacious bathroom with bath and excellent shower plus lots of towels. Lovely location on Clarence Square in this very upmarket side of town, a short walk from Pittville Park and the lovely Pump Room, also just a five minute walk into the town centre. Quiet location ensured a very long and peaceful night's sleep for us all. Fantastic dinner and great wine, well priced for the excellent quality. Huge cooked breakfast, best I've had in a very long time, again excellent ingredients and service. Thank you for a great break and for the custom-made milkshakes which the children loved!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I love cheltenham, it is great. My car was happy in their car park and when arriving i was welcomed by the really cool Canadian man. My room was groovy and spacious and i was welcomed by a teddy bear on my bed called Ben. There was a note that i could buy him haha. I loved my shower and the cleanliness was great!

The bar is class! the wine choice is good and the food??? Well i am going to write a separate review on the food in their restaurant section… it was 5 out of 5!!!

amazing pasta, pizza, breakfast and all the rest!

Oh and the location is perfect

if i came back to cheltenham, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This review is a little overdue. Booked a two nights stay back in July for a treat for my mum. Friendly family run establishment. We were provided with a very useful map so that we could visit all the delightful Cotswold villages nearby to get real value for our visit. Situated very near to the town centre which made this ideal for shopping and eating out at night. We had a twin room on the top floor with a nice view over the Square (lots of stairs) we were told about the stairs prior to booking but decided it was worth it for a nicer outlook. The room was very nicely furnished and decorated with a lovely modern bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable and it was all nicely presented and spotlessly clean.

We ate in on our first night. The restaurant manager, Scott was very polite. We had a nice seat outside overlooking the Square. I had read very rave reviews about the Pizzas beforehand so decided to try one out, I was not disappointed, they are indeed very delicious. The only down side of meal in the restaurant was that there was a very long wait between our starter and main meal. It wasn't a real problem for us as we were just having a leisurely meal but should we of had somewhere else to go, we would of had to hurry them along a bit. Breakfast was very nice without any delays.

I would recommend a stay here. One small point I would make from when we sat outside and ate. If summer bedding plants are not going to be planted up, take the old dead plants out. It would of been so much nicer to have a splash of summer flowers outside when you're sitting out.

Room Tip: Rooms at top have nicer views but you'll need to be fit as a very steep stair climb!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a few days while working in the area. Nice sized room which was comfortably furnished. Breakfast we fine and there was plenty of choices and the ordered items where quickly served. Evening meal and bar again fine and reasonably price. I had the two burgers; beef and pork with chiziro which was lovely. Will defiantly stay there again if in the area for work or pleasure.

Did not have any problem parking at the hotel and was able to get on line easily.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Vest1tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £78 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing