We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A first visit to Cheltenham and a lovely weekend due mainly to the hotel and staff. The hotel is in a central location with good sized rooms and good parking facilities. The food was excellent with a good breakfast included and the menu in the restaurant was varied with excellent gluten free options. I would highly recommend staying here as the facilities and attention to detail from the staff were first class.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    151
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
91
241
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Wales
Level Contributor
291 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hadn't planned on staying in Central Cheltenham as we were walking the Cotswolds Way but worth the trip in to this 'dog friendly' establishment. We had a very nice room nearest front door which was great for letting the Mutts out. A Bath would have been nice to ease our aching bodies but otherwise no complaints. Massive breakfast which had us beaten although we did have a fab meal the night before. Taxi Cost about £12 each way in and out from the Hungry Horse roundabouts on the Cotswolds Way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The gentleman we booked with was very friendly & helpful which gave us a good feeling about this hotel.
On arrival we received a warm welcome & our room was beautiful. Tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean &plenty of drawers & wardrobe space to hang our clothes. Makes a welcome change these days! Very comfortable bed & a very comfortable room all round
Breakfast was 1st class. We could have any combination off the menu & nothing was too much trouble. Again, everywhere was spotlessly clean & the staff very friendly & helpful. Especially the lady who pointed us in the right direction for a lovely circular walk through the park. Our dog a Labrador -Lucy loved it too. It is a great place to exercise your dog & only across the road. A beautiful park, lakes & wildlife.
The hotel is very close to the town centre - 5 mins walk easily reached the high street.

We couldn`t recommend this hotel highly enough for comfort, good food & friendly, helpful staff/owners. Def. one to keep returning to. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Clarence Court Hotel is a very nice hotel in a great location. It's in the middle of a residential area so very quiet. It's about a 10-minute walk into the city center. The rooms are large with high ceilings and updated baths though a bit dark. Shower could use a good cleaning - bathroom also had a tub. The staff was very helpful and usually available - though as with most smaller properties, they all seemed to do "double duty." There is an on-site bar/restaurant - the included breakfast was quite good, and if you didn't want to walk back into town for dinner, you could get a moderately-priced dinner which was nothing special but served the purpose. Cheltenham as a town doesn't have much charm but is a good location from which to explore The Cotswolds, and since we were taking trains everywhere, the train station in town was a deciding factor for our choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
302 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Check-in was a breeze...we were shown to our room as soon as we walked in.

Our room was nice enough but the walls were extremely thin, with no soundproofing. In our ground floor room, we could clearly hear the music pounding out from the bar below, the cleaners and their music in the hallway, all outside sounds, and every conversation in the room next door. Unfortunately, there was no stand for the luggage (not even in the armoire), so on the floor it went.

The door to the bathroom was grimy (both sides); sad that the cleaning staff never took a few minutes to wipe it down before checking us in. Our bathroom had a good-sized standalone shower (no tub). The shower tile had loads of mold, unfortunately; it could use a good scrubbing by the staff. There was no hook on the door or wall, so no place to put a toiletry bag. The bathroom mirror could use a light above, as it was a dim room with no window. There was no tissue anywhere in the room. The shower water pressure was awesome! And the hot water stayed nice and hot for the duration of the shower.

Breakfast was OK, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and packaged yogurt. We enjoyed our lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant, Joules. We wished they'd had better choices on their "by the glass" wine list, though.

We might stay here again if in the area but would likely look for a change.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Roadwrangler, Thanks for your review. I was delighted that many aspects of your stay were very enjoyable but of course most sorry to hear of the issues in the bathroom and in particular with the housekeeping standards which I will discuss in detail with my head housekeeper to ensure our normally very high standards will not be allowed to lapse in the future. Thank you once again for your most constructive comments. Regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at the end of May to use as a base to explore the cotswolds. Superb room with tall ceilings, huge bed, very comfortable, with a lovely shower room. Our host made us very welcome, great personality, very warm and human. A real change from the chains where it is yes sir, no sir. We ate in the hotel restaurant, Joules, on both nights. We intended to eat out on the second night, however after sampling the restaurant menu and quality of food on our first night, we had to return for another meal. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual, I would suggest calling the hotel to book directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellsmailbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked a two night stay but only stayed for one. The deluxe room was very shabby. Very small television for a large room. Needed binoculars to see it. Heated towel rack in bathroom did not work. It was a chilly night, room had no heating. The management insisted that I must pay for 2 nights even though I only stayed one.

Room Tip: Not suitable for elderly or physically challenged
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wavehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
This room is the same one that the reviewer below stayed in! I personally checked this guest out and there was no mention of any dissatisfaction with the room.

The real issue was that she had to return home early for a family emergency but had to pay for the 2nd night accommodation as per the booking terms and conditions from the agent she booked with. I did try and explain that we had turned down other customers for the room as we were fully booked and that we had already incurred a large commission charge from booking.com. What I did offer was to refund anything I could sell it for at the last minute and I typed a letter for her so that she could claim on her travel insurance.

Traveler Tip: The most generous cancellation policy is by booking direct with us either by phone or on our website. Please check the cancellation policy before booking and check you are covered by suitable insurance for the unexpected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Property: Clarence Court Hotel
Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing