We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpassed all expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel surpassed all our expectations. Beautiful older property, tastefully renovated but so much character still remaining. Fabulous location, minutes walk into town centre. Huge comfortable bed and pillows, great bathroom. Didn't have dinner due to late heavy lunch but had glass of wine in bar surrounded by glorious food odours, wish we could have found room for food. Breakfast was superb, fresh buffet and the best full English breakfast we have had in years! Delightful staff and absolute peace and quiet. We will be returning ASAP.

Room Tip: Only saw ours, but it was perfect. Might be a minor problem for the unfit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagsymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    151
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
91
241
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros- Adequate space in room, clean and functional, secure.
Good hearty breakfast. Better WiFi than most B&B's, guest houses or small hotels we have been to. Off street parking. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Cons- no lift and we were on the third/top floor, very loose door handles give an impression that the room is not secure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperrose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely location with onsite parking. We stayed on 3rd floor (there are no lifts so there are steep steps up to the next level - top floor). Lovely views of square, the room was very comfortable especially the pillows. The room does have dark matching décor although I personally like light colours, a small sofa and chest of draws although we didn't use these. Photos attached. There is tea and coffee making facilities although our kettle poured out very quick I pointed this out on check out. We stayed for two nights but we were so busy with our own itinerary that we didn't have time to check out the shops or local area. We had room 18 and the bathroom with shower was of a good size as this room was the superior double room. Our Air Con was a fan which we used throughout our stay (unusual for the UK but we've had hot weather with warm evenings) so this really helped as it was a warm room. Towels in bathroom with shampoo, soap and bath miniatures (although I would have expected a little more being a superior double) complimentary fizzy mineral water (I'd prefer still but that's my choice). Free Wi-Fi was also available very easy to connect on to. The room was clean however there was quite a bit of dust in areas shown up by the sunshine (can't be helped I suppose but then I'm very fussy on things like that). Staff attended promptly to our needs. We used the restaurant on our first evening and the food was fantastic especially the homemade ravioli with prawn and crab. We would stay again but there is such a huge choice of accommodation in the area you're really spoilt for choice. The room was quiet and the breakfast was a full English with a cold buffet selection, perhaps more choice with fresh breakfast juice with more variety of fruit (but then I'm used to the large Hotel chains with huge buffet choice selection) so in comparison this is smaller. Coffee is perculated which isn't a choice I'd make so perhaps expansion on types of coffee would be a plus. But overall a pleasant stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 18 was a superior double, lovely décor and fantastic bathroom with bath and shower (although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribena001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The staff (all local) seemed really keen to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We opted for a 2nd floor bedroom overlooking the square. There is no lift, so you need to be reasonably fit to opt for this floor. It was so quiet that we could have the window open all night, without hearing a sound. Very nice bathroom. Slight problem when we returned to the room after lunch to find the room hadn't been made up, but this was rectified at our convenience, and very willingly.
Breakfast was very quiet and calm, with a lovely lady in charge of ensuring things run smoothly. My only slight negative comment would be that it would be nice to see a wider range of artisan-style breads for those of us who prefer a continental rather than cooked breakfasts.
Overall a beautifully peaceful, clean and well-run hotel. I would very definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 4day stay at this hotel. Have had a really great time room, staff, food all superb. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Also in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ablaze14couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this from comments on TripAdviser and weren't disappointed. We were upgraded to a huge and splendid room with two sofas, looking out over the square. Despite being directly above the bar on a warm evening it was not noisy at all, and we slept well apart from loud thunderclap in the night! Staff really friendly and helpful, and breakfast set us up for the day. A bit of mould on some tiles in the large bathroom, but this was a minor point in an otherwise spotless place. Free parking and wifi both very handy, and only a short walk into town.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This small hotel is in a stylish Cheltenham mansion built in 1838, the former Ross House. It is situated in a quiet, stylish square about 5-10 min walk (though not a particularly interesting one) from the famous Promenade and near the unspeakably nasty new Brewery shopping mall. The hotel has many original fittings and some very steep stairs, but has been sensitively modernised.
It an hotel of this kind there will always be the odd quirk and imperfection. It would be, for instance, impossible to put in a DDA compliant lift, and air conditioning would probably ruin the building. Staff very obliging and friendly. Restaurant (Joules) in the semi-basement reviewed separately. We had a top floor room with distant views of the Welsh hills. Sleep quality was poor, but this wasn't the hotel's fault - it was the 90deg F heat.
Good breakfast cooked to order - a minor niggle - why provide only skimmed milk?!
Great bonus is on site free parking and also fast wifi.
Thoroughly recommended - especially out of heatwaves!

Room Tip: Provided you are fit, the top floor front rooms, for the view! And don't travel in a heatwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Property: Clarence Court Hotel
Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing