We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarence Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Walney Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are looking for five star accommodation then this hotel is not for you.But what you will get is a warm and friendly welcome, good comfortable rooms,suprisingly good food all managed by smiling attentive staff.Stopped off twice here with extended family ( including children and dogs) and we were made to feel really welcome.,and after a lifetime of staying in anonymous hotels it was great.

Room Tip: Stayed in three different rooms,all ok,but it is worth paying the small extra to upgrade to a superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    148
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
89
239
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff.
Spacious room.
Comfortable beds.
The food was excellent but took a long time to arrive at breakfast and at dinner too.
Good location and parking.
Would love a safe in the room.
Would love a small fridge in the room

Room Tip: We had the family room which was very big and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a small double room at this hotel on 12th August 2014. I paid £64 in advance.

The position of the Clarence Court is good - just a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Parking looks to be adequate but you may be disappointed if you arrive late. There are meters in the Square but it looked to be busy. There is a bigger car park about a quarter of a mile or so away.

The outside of the hotel is pretty ordinary and the reception area not much better - although this was brightened up by the positive welcome of the duty staff. The management looks to have done the best that it can with the rooms ........ but it is an old building and there are limits. I would rate my general room at about 2 1/2 star but the bathroom was pretty new (which also seemed to be the case with my two colleagues' rooms) and I would rate that at c.3 1/2. Overall, roughly a 3 star offering. My room was clean.

The Bar and Breakfast room are in the Basement and are in better order than the other public areas that I saw in the hotel. The Breakfast was good and the staff cheerful and attentive which is all that I need in the morning. The sausages were not to my personal taste but we all have our preferences.

The hotel clientele was predominantly mature couples on the night of my stay but a look in the Visitors Book suggested that a fair number of international visitors are also users. Early movement in the car park also indicated some commercial usage.

In my view, the Clarence Court is not somewhere to choose if you need to hang around the hotel quite a bit during your stay. It is perfectly adequate for a quiet night's sleep and Breakfast and at £64 per night represents very good value for money. I would certainly stay there again (and probably will).

Room Tip: Try to get one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ygor705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed last weekend for one night. I chose Clarence Court based on the TripAdvisor recommendations and I wasn't disappointed at all. I wish I had booked it for the whole weekend.

It is in a great central location, plenty of parking, smart guest rooms rooms (particularly the bathroom), lovely small bar downstairs. I didn't try the restaurant in the evening, only for breakfast which was very nice and freshly cooked. Most of all the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

We needed to be out of the hotel early on the Saturday morning and we were told by the person who checked us in that breakfast was only served from 8am and nothing earlier, yet in the room the information states a continental breakfast can be provided earlier if needed. Why couldn't he have told me that. Also the room was very hot so I struggled to sleep even with the windows open.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel surpassed all our expectations. Beautiful older property, tastefully renovated but so much character still remaining. Fabulous location, minutes walk into town centre. Huge comfortable bed and pillows, great bathroom. Didn't have dinner due to late heavy lunch but had glass of wine in bar surrounded by glorious food odours, wish we could have found room for food. Breakfast was superb, fresh buffet and the best full English breakfast we have had in years! Delightful staff and absolute peace and quiet. We will be returning ASAP.

Room Tip: Only saw ours, but it was perfect. Might be a minor problem for the unfit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagsymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros- Adequate space in room, clean and functional, secure.
Good hearty breakfast. Better WiFi than most B&B's, guest houses or small hotels we have been to. Off street parking. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Cons- no lift and we were on the third/top floor, very loose door handles give an impression that the room is not secure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperrose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely location with onsite parking. We stayed on 3rd floor (there are no lifts so there are steep steps up to the next level - top floor). Lovely views of square, the room was very comfortable especially the pillows. The room does have dark matching décor although I personally like light colours, a small sofa and chest of draws although we didn't use these. Photos attached. There is tea and coffee making facilities although our kettle poured out very quick I pointed this out on check out. We stayed for two nights but we were so busy with our own itinerary that we didn't have time to check out the shops or local area. We had room 18 and the bathroom with shower was of a good size as this room was the superior double room. Our Air Con was a fan which we used throughout our stay (unusual for the UK but we've had hot weather with warm evenings) so this really helped as it was a warm room. Towels in bathroom with shampoo, soap and bath miniatures (although I would have expected a little more being a superior double) complimentary fizzy mineral water (I'd prefer still but that's my choice). Free Wi-Fi was also available very easy to connect on to. The room was clean however there was quite a bit of dust in areas shown up by the sunshine (can't be helped I suppose but then I'm very fussy on things like that). Staff attended promptly to our needs. We used the restaurant on our first evening and the food was fantastic especially the homemade ravioli with prawn and crab. We would stay again but there is such a huge choice of accommodation in the area you're really spoilt for choice. The room was quiet and the breakfast was a full English with a cold buffet selection, perhaps more choice with fresh breakfast juice with more variety of fruit (but then I'm used to the large Hotel chains with huge buffet choice selection) so in comparison this is smaller. Coffee is perculated which isn't a choice I'd make so perhaps expansion on types of coffee would be a plus. But overall a pleasant stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 18 was a superior double, lovely décor and fantastic bathroom with bath and shower (although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribena001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Court Hotel

Property: Clarence Court Hotel
Address: 45 Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham's premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. And places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance. We are delighted to now offer free use of Fitness First Leisure club for guests over 16, just 2 minutes walk from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarence Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Court Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing