We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but no frills!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cheltenham
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fine, but no frills!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Goldman Sachs et al have got this pitched about right, if all you want is a place to lay your head. The Travelodge is conveniently located at the end of the "Golden Valley", on the outskirts of Cheltenham and almost next to GCHQ at one end and 3 miles from Gloucester at the other and about a mile from M5J11. It is just round the corner from Manor on the Lake (Hotel, Functions), The Pavilion (Conferences, Community activities and home to a Church) and a small Business Park which includes Cheltenahm Film Studios. It adjoins a KFC and a Harvester Restaurant.

The rooms are small-ish, but adequate, a "copy and paste" design from just about every other Travelodge in which I have ever stayed! Ditto the bathroom. The place is clean, the bed comfortable and the reception staff friendly. Only two things spoiled it a bit: there was nothing in the bathroom to wash your hair, and you have to pay to park your vehicle there, or park on the road nearby. Yes, I'd go again if the situation cropped up - not foe a "romantic weekend away", but if all I/we needed was a place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    140
    93
    41
    30
See reviews for
142
136
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powys
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very basic rooms but great showers and clean comfortable beds.
Travelodge prices always good value for money. This Travelodge is a short bus ride from the shops and there is a park and ride nearby. There is a Harvester and KFC next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This really is 'get what you pay for'. It's a purpose built hotel and as is the modern trend, every expense has been spared. The walls and floors are paper thin and we heard people walking around above us. The hotel has been recently refurbished but already it in need of TLC. On a plus note, it was a huge comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipplefuddywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

we arrived before check inn and they lent us a room as we were off to the races for a couple of days all the rooms were clean and tidy all the staff spot on and friendly and helpfull clean and tidy hotel good taxi service pub next door and kfc so we would survive the weekend spot on and a £11 taxi drive to racecourse

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed in the Cheltenham Travelodge 3 times in the past month and have been very impressed. The first time I was initially disappointed as there was a damp smell in the room and a wet patch on the carpet outside the bathroom, but the staff were really helpful and immediately gave me another room.
The new decor was fresh and the bed was really comfortable. The curtains were great and kept all the light out so i slept really well.
The bathrooms are small and basic, but reasonable for the price paid.
The towels were nice and new, but shame there wasn't a bathmat.
Some colleagues stayed at a nearby more expensive hotel but they all complained that they slept really badly and wish they'd stayed at the Travelodge!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked this Travelodge irrespective of other reviews as it was near to where we wanted to be. The hotel rooms have been upgraded with new beds and bedding. We stayed 5 nights as my son was on a driving course. The hotel and room was warm and comfortable, extra pillows were available and oodles of hot water for showers. Overalll, very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This refurb was completed in Aug 2013, and what a difference it has made compared to other Travelodges I have stayed in. The rooms were sparkling, bright, warm, faultless.Very comfy new beds. The desk staff Martin and Jamie were friendly and helpful, booking cabs for us too. Great value for money, easily accessible to the town centre. Parking £5 for 24 hours. Harvester next door for a tasty brekker in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilycBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
2.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cheltenham

Property: Travelodge Cheltenham
Address: Golden Valley Roundabout | Hatherly Lane, Cheltenham GL51 6PN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cheltenham 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing