We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. TGI fridays letting you down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cheltenham
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good stay. TGI fridays letting you down.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for a night out and i was very satisfied with the room and in particular mark on reception who demonstrated efficient and friendly customer service. The only comment i would make is that we had three to a room i would like to be able to clarify if your allowed to do that and if so would you be able to accommodate three people to a room.

TGI fridays really put a downer on our stay in cheltenham. We were informed that breakfast was served until 10am. We arrived there at 9:52 thinking we would have time to order however we were told we only had 2 minutes to order. So when we deicded to order straight away we were then told by another member of staff that the kitchen was closed at 9:55am. The staff were completely off hand with us and if breakfast is served until 10am then the kitchen should shut at 10am. We definitely didn't get the friday feeling when we walked in, more of a Monday morning.

I would consider whether you should carry on advertising TGI fridays on your website premier inn because they do not demonstrate the same standards of customer service.

Room Tip: dont think anyone would be disappointed with any room. Perfect for a simple overnight stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    148
    98
    43
    33
See reviews for
143
145
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golspie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Travelodge Cheltenham is conveniently located right on the A40 just a mile from Junction 11 of the M5 motorway. As budget hotels go, it ticks the boxes in terms of pricing and cleanliness, but it isn't in the same league as other budget hotels which go farther in terms of value for money. Wi-Fi costs £5.00 per hour (free at most other chain hotels including the one over the road and in the Harvester restaurant next door) or £10 per day, the car park is £5.00 per day, and it costs a whopping £20 per dog per night. If we had taken these add-ons, the cost would have been £76.00 per night, and that is just plainly overpriced. Travelodge need to understand that £76.00 per night is not budget hotel price in anybody's language: had we used the Ibis in Gloucester (they were full, and I can understand why) which is just 5 miles away, the same package of room/wifi/dog/car park would have been £51, and £25 per night difference is hard to stomach.

The staff were attentive, and the place (recently refurbished) spotless. The bed was comfy, and although we were disturbed during the night due to a hen night group coming in somewhat the worse for wear, the hotel cannot be held accountable for that. All of the good points, though, have been matched by all the other budget hotels I have used, and they certainly don't warrant the extra cost. If we stay there again, it will only be because the others are full.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Fabric_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've stayed at Cheltenham Travelodge one night a week for three years and have always been more than satisfied. The staff are always polite, friendly and efficient, and since refurbishment, the rooms are first class.

Last week there was an emergency incident (an electrical fire) which required the guests' evacuation to the carpark. This incident was was dealt with calmly and proficiently by the duty manager, and later by the general manager. I understand that some guests were complaining about having to stand in the carpark while the incident was dealt with by four units of the Gloucestershire fire brigade. Well, fellow guests, you had two alternatives to standing in a cold carpark - roasting or asphyxiation! While the fire brigade were on the scene the Travelodge staff would have had no authority or control over the situation, so it is unfair to blame them. I will continue to use Cheltenham Travelodge, knowing that any future emergency will be dealt with in a professional manner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having read the last review from a fellow guest, I felt compelled to write a review as I thought the heading 'Poor Service' was totally uncalled for, as I thought the staff were oustanding in such a difficult situation.

This was my first stay in a Travelodge as work normally puts us up in another budget brand, but after this stay I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

I stayed on a monday night and unfortunately the fire alarms went off early in the morning. We were all evacuated, (as I would have hoped in a fire!), and the young man on reception went out of his way to speak to everyone in the car park, keeping us updated and when the manager arrived a short time later, I noticed her giving another guest a coat out of her car.

I've been unlucky enough to have stayed at another hotel that had an evacuation in the night, and that wasn't dealt with nearly half as well.

Well done to the staff at Cheltenham, I will be back, please don't be discouraged from the others, I'd like to see them evacuate a hotel as efficiently!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Whilst staying at this hotel first impressions were good! Then check in took a while seemingly the girl on the desk was new or just required rather a lot of training. Got to our room which wasn't filthy but then it wasn't the cleanest and best maintained, with the vinyl falling off the front of the bath a hive for bacteria! The real fun came though when the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night! We of course were all evacuated outside, which was sub zero! The staff member who was on clearly didn't know what be was doing we were stood outside for quite a while before we were told what was going on. No one even checked to see if everyone had evacuated by doing a fire register! Once we were let back inside we were left standing inside the reception for ages before we were told we could go back to our rooms or before we knew why we were standing there! The whole stay went from bad to worse! Check in at your own risk!! But don't expect the staff to know what is going on, even when the manager turned up things didn't get any better!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin5391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment justin5391. We do expect our guests to have a speedy check in so it is regrettable to learn of the delay at reception on arrival. On arriving to your room they are expected to have been cleaned to a high standard and well maintained so we are sorry to learn you found the room to be in a poor condition. Your safety is of utmost importance to us and our staff are fully trained on how to deal with situations such as the fire alarm sounding so we are concerned to learn you found our staff to be unhelpful during this time. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were there for a conference at the Racecourse. We arrived about 5pm went straight to our room very nice, soon got it warm, basic but we expected it, its not a 5* hotel. Car park wasn't free, but I think that is due to its location other premises on sight. Had a good night's sleep expected noise as our room looked out to the roundabout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was at the Travelodge for 2 nights over new year and booked a disabled double room. When we arrived there were 2 very small twin beds (barely big enough for a child). As it was new year and the receptionist had mentioned that the hotel was fully booked we did not complain but basically I had no sleep during my stay as the bed was so uncomfortable. I have stayed at this hotel previously without issue so I guess it was only this particular room but its very bad for disabled room. Have complained to Travelodge about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Clare2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Cheltenham, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
It is regrettable to learn that you found our beds to be uncomfortable Clare2014. We've recently freshened up the hotel and put new beds in our rooms and we would hope that all of our customers have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We would like to offer our apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cheltenham

Property: Travelodge Cheltenham
Address: Golden Valley Roundabout | Hatherly Lane, Cheltenham GL51 6PN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cheltenham 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing