We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travelodge Cheltenham - good customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cheltenham
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travelodge Cheltenham - good customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This Travelodge was very comfortable and clean with a Harvester restaurant conveniently situated onsite. Downside we had to pay car park fees. Staff were very professional and helpful (especially as my son was ill). Excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank KathyE45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    141
    93
    41
    30
See reviews for
142
136
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you just want somewhere to sleep that's quiet, clean and comfortable with no frills, this is the place for you. We always stay here when visiting the Cheltenham Folk Festival - it's ALMOST as cheap as camping if you book early, and far, far more comfortable. Free parking for Blue Badge holders (and white van drivers, apparently!) And no compulsory heart-attack-on-a-plate breakfast. Lovely firm bed at a decent height. Two fluffy pillows EACH. Accessible room design could do with a bit of input from a real disabled person, but not a bad try.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Travelodge Golden Valley Roundabout in Cheltenham was my port in a storm during the ongoing floods and storms and travel disruption. I stayed 2 nights. Colleagues were a bit sniffy when I said I was staying at the Travelodge; there may be more upmarket options, but at £45-£50 a night, the Travelodge was very good value. Very clean, modern, quiet ( an air filtration system is outside the even numbers on the second and presumably first floor, but wasn't overly intrusive and shut down early enough in the evening). Sure, the view was not very aesthetic, but I wanted to shut the curtains anyway to just create a cosy feel, which I was able to do. Proximity to Harvester ( next door) provides good eating options, again well priced, so if you are looking for a convenient stop over, would recommend this as an option. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Even a young Polish cleaning lady first thing in the morning, who clearly was finding the start to her day, like the rest of us, a challenge, as she manoeuvred a heavy vacuum cleaner, was still able to raise a smile and engage in a bit of meaningless banter. So, happy memories of my stay here. You, or at least, I don't have to stay in luxury to get a good standards and service.

Room Tip: The even numbers look out on the roundabout, but beware, it is above an air filtration system which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Harvester pub restaurant and KFC next door to Travelodge where we could get a cooked breakfast. Lifts to all floors. Helpful staff on reception. Hot snacks available also soft drinks/ chocolate machine in reception. Very comfy bed and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

One of the best Travelodges I have stayed in, but beware of access to the Lodge, and be VERY aware of parking charges when stayiing longer than 3 hours. If arriving in the dark, you will need a torch to read the meter instructions. (I was not warned of the parking charges at recption) I did not use Harvester or KFC, but if I had need to I would have used the Harvester

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank deepee561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for a night out and i was very satisfied with the room and in particular mark on reception who demonstrated efficient and friendly customer service. The only comment i would make is that we had three to a room i would like to be able to clarify if your allowed to do that and if so would you be able to accommodate three people to a room.

TGI fridays really put a downer on our stay in cheltenham. We were informed that breakfast was served until 10am. We arrived there at 9:52 thinking we would have time to order however we were told we only had 2 minutes to order. So when we deicded to order straight away we were then told by another member of staff that the kitchen was closed at 9:55am. The staff were completely off hand with us and if breakfast is served until 10am then the kitchen should shut at 10am. We definitely didn't get the friday feeling when we walked in, more of a Monday morning.

I would consider whether you should carry on advertising TGI fridays on your website premier inn because they do not demonstrate the same standards of customer service.

Room Tip: dont think anyone would be disappointed with any room. Perfect for a simple overnight stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golspie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Travelodge Cheltenham is conveniently located right on the A40 just a mile from Junction 11 of the M5 motorway. As budget hotels go, it ticks the boxes in terms of pricing and cleanliness, but it isn't in the same league as other budget hotels which go farther in terms of value for money. Wi-Fi costs £5.00 per hour (free at most other chain hotels including the one over the road and in the Harvester restaurant next door) or £10 per day, the car park is £5.00 per day, and it costs a whopping £20 per dog per night. If we had taken these add-ons, the cost would have been £76.00 per night, and that is just plainly overpriced. Travelodge need to understand that £76.00 per night is not budget hotel price in anybody's language: had we used the Ibis in Gloucester (they were full, and I can understand why) which is just 5 miles away, the same package of room/wifi/dog/car park would have been £51, and £25 per night difference is hard to stomach.

The staff were attentive, and the place (recently refurbished) spotless. The bed was comfy, and although we were disturbed during the night due to a hen night group coming in somewhat the worse for wear, the hotel cannot be held accountable for that. All of the good points, though, have been matched by all the other budget hotels I have used, and they certainly don't warrant the extra cost. If we stay there again, it will only be because the others are full.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Fabric_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
2.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cheltenham

Property: Travelodge Cheltenham
Address: Golden Valley Roundabout | Hatherly Lane, Cheltenham GL51 6PN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cheltenham 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing