We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cheltenham
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned home having spent 4 nights at this Travelodge. We booked on the basis of the then exellent reports on Trip Adviser, so thank you people for pointing us in the direction of Golden Valley Roundabout! Simply cannot understand some of the recent negative feedback. We could not fault it in any way. We requested a high floor overlooking the car park and weren't disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. Lovely shower, with no shortage of hot water. We had the window open for the duration of our stay as it was very warm and we like fresh air. We found it very peaceful. Yes, there was the odd person outside with a loud voice, but nothing to keep us awake. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. It was a real pleasure passing through reception area. There is the option to purchase a breakfast box from the Travelodge, or a pot of porridge to prepare in your room, or if you prefer there's a Harvester next door and a KFC. Asda is about a ten minute walk, just round the corner. There are frequent buses to Cheltenham one way, Gloucester the other, and with the bus stops just a few minutes walk away, this Travelodge is in an ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds. Thank you everyone, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: As another review advised us, a high floor overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JGfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    148
    98
    43
    33
See reviews for
143
145
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On arrival there was hairs on the toilet and rubbish on the floor.
The next day the mugs and spoons were left uncleaned.
Left a day early!!!
The receptionist did replace the cups and apologize but we could not force ourselves to stay another night so left for a Premier Inn instead.
I have used numerous Travelodges in the past, this was the worse by far.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKDons66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The Travelodge is a 'value,' 'no thrills' chain and is singularly depressing. There is nothing remarkable nor outstanding to be had and the company's chase to the lowest common denominator has left no edge that has not be buffed to a bland, grey nothingness. And thats pretty much how I felt for the length of my stay.
The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was firm but it felt exactly like being back in student halls just with a bigger bed and extra charges.
The room was small; the TV tiny and the desk chair a pretty pointless addition.
The bathroom was no great shakes either, it brought to mind an airplane's WC. No room for a bath, theres a small shower instead, complete with a curtain that will stick to you if you get to close whilst loofering the back.
I can't say I had a great time, it was average, or slightly less than that. The Travelodge advertises value but do we really get what we pay for? There is free wifi...for 30 minutes - after which there is a £3 charge per 24 hours. There is free parking...for three hours (who stays at a hotel for three hours?) There is breakfast - if you're willing to pay £4.95 for a box of microwaved blandness. Why can chains do good value so well in America (big room, big TV, bathtub, ironing board, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries...) yet not manage to do it here? Do We Brits simply settle for less?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugaxque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Myself and my two children stayed in a family room here on a Friday night. The window looked out over the back car park. The room was quiet and comfortable.
The only slight niggle was that parking had to be paid for, however, the machines were broken so we didn't have to pay this time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineL205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had stayed over the End May bank Holiday 2014. Booked 2 family rooms and 1 double room for 3 families. Family rooms were clean but really small, all you could do was get in the room and get on to bed. However the room was clean and the Harvester and KFC next door were a great help. The facilities are very very basic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShovanChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a nearby wedding and it was just what was needed; a well located, clean room with a keen price. No frills, but you're not paying for frills. The Harvester next door was good value for dinner, though I've heard bad things about its breakfast. There's also a KFC nearby if that's your thing. The only thing to watch out for is the cost of taxis in Cheltenham; thank goodness I'd saved money by staying at a Travelodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night to attend a friend's birthday party. Room was clean. The only downside was that the previous selfish occupants had been smoking in the bathroom and being non smokers it was pretty bad. There were no other rooms ready when we arrived and we were rushing out. Staff did offer to move us but once the shower had been on the smell wasn't as strong. Why do selfish smokers have to disobey non smoking rules and make us non smokers suffer? However, travelodge say that they take a note of such things. Whether they do or not I'll probably never know but not their fault. Location is good about 10 mins from centre of Cheltenham. Parking costs £5 per 24 hrs and there is a KFC and Harvester on the complex so overall good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gittinsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cheltenham

Property: Travelodge Cheltenham
Address: Golden Valley Roundabout | Hatherly Lane, Cheltenham GL51 6PN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cheltenham 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing