We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Cheltenham
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location handy for M5 and Cheltenham. Clean and fresh room, good value Harvester next door. Only bugbear is having to pay for parking. Half an hour to WWT at Slimbridge, 5 minutes drive to town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CariadMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

overall very good inside but we had a room with a view of the bins and in broad daylight we watched the local wildlife RATS. Did report and I can see from another review a few days later not much den about their rat problem

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

As in the title, Travelodge is one of the places where dogs are happily accommodated, albeit at a charge of £15 for the entire stay, supposedly used to clean the room afterwards. I have doubts to this, as our dog liked to roll around on the floor (spreading his scent), suggesting that the carpet probably still had traces of the previous dog's scent and indeed had not been cleaned.

The facilities were generally clean and practical and the television was great with a good choice of channels (E4, Film4, ITV2, BBC News 24 included).

Unfortunately, the cleaning and room maintenance service was lax.

Firstly, the window was broken. It required a lot of force to close (lift upwards and pull inwards simultaneously).

Secondly, the towels supplied to us were very rough and looked as if they had been used for a good few years. In comparison when we asked for an extra towel, the towel we were given was a nice and fluffy one. Discrimination perhaps?

Thirdly, the carpet was not hoovered on any day of our one-week stay, nor were bottle caps on the floor picked up and thrown away by cleaning staff. They also failed to remove hair from the shower drain area. All they did was pull up the bed covers, rearrange the pillows, give "new" towels and restock the toilet paper. Only on one day did we find our soap re-stocked and for the other days was left using the remnants of yesterday's (or indeed a few days before's) liquid soap.

Overall, Travelodge Chelteham is an adequate place to stay with friendly reception staff (as well as a convenient KFC with fast and friendly service and an ASDA supermarket 5-10 minutes walk away) and especially if you are travelling with your four-legged friends, but be prepared to give up some creature comforts and deal with the inadequate cleaning service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shinynugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Room quiet. Bed comfy cleaning staff friendly good for exploring local area Asia within walking distance

Shame about the wildlife rats were seen playing in daylight outside our groundfloor window

Lord of rubbish outside attached harvesters and kfc

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I had a good experience staying at this basic hotel. Most impressively the reception staff showed common sense about paying for parking. Irritating that they charge for wifi. No air-con or ventilation is an issue, particularly when I stayed there in hotter weather. Leaving the window open at night introduced lots of external noise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Graojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed 8th and 9th August when the weather was very warm. I asked at reception for a fan, which was provided without delay. The room was very clean and adequate for a couple of nights. The bed was probably the best I have slept on in a hotel, which is very important to me.

Jst a short walk and you are at the park and ride for Cheltenham and I spent a lovely day there. It is really close to a retail park and Asda. I enjoyed a couple of meals at the Harvester which ids literally 20 steps away.

Will stay again and can recommend for anybody wanting a cheap break away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jooolz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel was, as i say, Beyond all expectations. All the staff are polite, helpful, very friendly, and most importantly, cheerful. The rooms were very clean, modern, and extremely comfortable. I had 2 rooms, which they thoughtfully put opposite each other without my having to ask. My mum and I stayed in one, and my teenage children stayed in the other. As it was a family room there was 1 double bed and 2 other beds all previously made up for us. Usually we have the laundry and have to do this ourselves. There were sufficient pillows; we like 2 each, and bath towels. We usually have to go to reception to request more, and occasionally they have run out in the past. Therefore I conclude that this is the best joint Travelodge we have stayed in (the other being Eastbourne - now gone) and it is a prime example of how Travelodge have improved and upgraded their brand. Oh did I mention the incredibly comfortable Beds?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Pethericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
649 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
4.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cheltenham

Address: Golden Valley Roundabout | Hatherly Lane, Cheltenham GL51 6PN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £37 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cheltenham 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Junction 11, M5, and 2 miles from Cheltenham Centre. Cheltenham Travelodge is great for city breaks or to stop over during a long journey. Our site offers affordable rooms and is focused on providing great value for your stay. We also offer great links into town with 2 bus services departing every 15 minutes from just outside the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Cheltenham
Cheltenham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing