We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #16 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Have stayed here twice now on business and it's simply superb.

The rooms are excellently furnished, the service from the owners (Gerry & Sophie) is wonderful (almost like living at home, though my wife won't cook me a full English in the morning) and it's very conveniently located in the heart of Cheltenham.

Don't think it can be bettered anywhere else in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front, then you won't hear Wetherspoons if, like me, you sleep with a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    51
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
65
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is an excellent B&B and I'd highly recommend. Location ideal for Cheltenham centre, Room was fantastic, hospitality great and breakfast not to be missed. Would be hard to beat in terms of value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U00272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Today we arrived home from a short 2 night break and cannot fault the location of this hotel, everything you need is minutes away. Greg and Sophie who run the hotel are very welcoming and very friendly and nothing is too much bother. Our room (room 2) was lovely and clean (im fussy), the ensuite was small but at the end of the day it doesnt really matter for what you have to do in there. The breakfast was very good, plenty of selection and the full english is lovely. I will definitely be going back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath196911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked in to the Abbey Hotel Cheltenham with the view to having a look around the Cotswolds. Firstly the owner Greg was most helpful on the phone in giving us some helpful information on how to get to Cheltenham after arriving at Heathrow. We were given a great welcome after having just flown to the UK from Australia and shown to a very comfortable and clean room where we stayed for 6 nights. The hotel is very conveniently located near shops, restaurants and importantly to us, the bus station. We use public transport and were able to visit several beautiful Cotswold villages by bus, the whole surrounding area is just a delight.
We are an elderly couple and found this hotel perfect for comfort, cleanliness and most of all very friendly staff and a great breakfast each morning to get us going for the day.
Thanks Abbey Hotel, we might just see you again, who knows.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
powys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

stayed in room 1 , ok room but the en suite was awful , a tiny shower that looked grubby and dated , when switched on the water was just was a trickle and although controled by temp switch the trickle was freezing and boiling intermitently, a diasaster !! part of the £80 a night fee should include good washing facilities . Good breakfast and good location but would not stay there again .On check out was not asked if everything was alright with our stay , bad form .

Room Tip: dont book room 1 or 8 the basement looking out at a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gellifawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Owner at The Abbey, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The showers should all be working fine, and should definitely not be grubby. I wished you had told us during your stay, as we would have tried to do something about it, or at least moved you to a different room. Room 8 does not look out on a brick wall. It is situated on the lower ground floor, and is therefore our quietest room. It actually looks out on to a fence and some plant arrangements. We have had several guests who have specifically requested room 8 on returning to us.
Again, apologies for your bad experience at the Abbey. Sophie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Abbey very much, Very clean, fresh and comfortable room overlooking the side street on which the Abbey is based. A parking permit was provided which enabled us to park right outside -on street upon arrival (approx midday). We were able to check in early as the room was ready.Small ensuite shower/WC/basin were immaculate with pleanty of big towels and the usual toileteries.
Biggish flat screen TV, very comfortable bed and linen all superb.
Breakfast- full english good quality and plenty of it. In addition to this were the usual choices of cereals/fruit/rolls/toast and juice.
The Abbey is a stone's throw from the main shopping area in the heart od Cheltenham and yet not in a noisy main street. At the rear of the property is the impressive Sandford Park and Cheltenham's heated lido.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Smashing hotel, did everything required for a base to enjoy the area. Rooms and en-suite were clean and comfortable,breakfasts were plentiful if a little hectic if all the guests arrive at the same time and the on street car parking permit was a great help.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing