We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #15 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed in the family room (2 adults, 2 children) which was quite spacious and very clean, with comfortable beds and plenty of pillows. The ensuite shower room was also very clean and spacious. The staff were helpful and welcoming, and there was an "honesty bar" which added to the friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. The location was really good, a quiet road, but central, and we were given a parking permit so were able to park free near the hotel. Very good value for money - would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    53
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
69
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Up from Cornwall on business trip ,warm welcome ,lovely room beds so comfy best nights sleep in years.Rooms really nice coffee, tea ,biscuits,hairdryer,nice en suite.
Every thing you could want for breakfast all freshly cooked to order.
Stayed three nights .Superb location.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moffy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

8 of us between the ages of 25-70 years stayed in 4 rooms for 1 night for a family celebration and we all felt that this is a little gem of a hotel. Its in a quiet side street, really close to the centre's shops, bars and restaurants and the older part, so no need for buses or taxis. The parking permit supplied by the owners meant no costly car park fees either, which was great. The hotel was lovely and warm on a cold day, the rooms clean and spacious, great shower in the en-suite, really comfortable beds, the breakfast had plenty of choice (with good quality bacon and sausage) - the little honesty bar is also a great idea for a quiet drink at the end of the evening. Sophie the owner was really welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. We have all said if we ever come back to stay in Cheltenham we would definately return here

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Could not fault the hotel or the service. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we rang the bell. Lovely and warm, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, lovely breakfast. Although the hotel was full we could not hear anyone else when in our room Close to town center. I have no problem with recommending this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeepottwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Arrived Saturday at noon. Greeted by Sophie (owner) and made to feel welcome, it was like visiting relatives. The house was lovely and warm, it is conveniently situated near the town centre so no need to take the car. We stayed in room10, very spacious,clean and tidy and a nice size en-suite. Fabulous breakfast, choice of cereals, nuts, yogurt, croissants followed by a full English breakfast. Would definitely recommend this B&B to family and friends, excellent value.

Room Tip: In a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Have stayed here twice now on business and it's simply superb.

The rooms are excellently furnished, the service from the owners (Gerry & Sophie) is wonderful (almost like living at home, though my wife won't cook me a full English in the morning) and it's very conveniently located in the heart of Cheltenham.

Don't think it can be bettered anywhere else in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front, then you won't hear Wetherspoons if, like me, you sleep with a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is an excellent B&B and I'd highly recommend. Location ideal for Cheltenham centre, Room was fantastic, hospitality great and breakfast not to be missed. Would be hard to beat in terms of value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U00272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cheltenham
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing