We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #16 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here with my parents - impeccably clean and the bathroom whilst small, was also clean although the shower took a bit of figuring out how to work it. Good breakfast and the honesty bar seems to work well, the owners were great to chat too. Bed was pretty good as well - it was a bit hot even though we had a fan, but that can't be helped much.

We were issued with a car parking permit for the street, though finding a car park when we arrived was a bit of an adventure - had to circle the block a few times and reverse parallel park in. Lots of one way streets around which was tricky.

Wifi was free and connected to multiple devices with no trouble at all! Really lovely stay in a really good spot, 10-20 minute walk to wherever you wanted to go within the town centre.

Room Tip: Street side is no problem for noise, though the stairs are a bit tricky if you've got big bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralulabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    51
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
66
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here twice during August whilst on business. Room was very tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable.
The owners and staff are very friendly, as befits a small establishment of this type, and were very helpful throughout.

I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcooper2253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed here for ten days. This is the fourth time my parents stayed here and they very much enjoyed every time. Greg, Sophie and their staff are always very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The whole hotel is always spotless, the rooms comfortable and spacious. Every day you get new biscuits, coffee, tea etc. The breakfast is delicious and always freshly cooked. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet road just one minute from the town centre and the park. My parents can't wait to go back and highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kika999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stopped by Cheltenham for one night, thinking taking train from Penzance to Leeds will be too long, The Abbey is really an excellent choice!

First of all, the room is so spacious. The en-suite bathroom is good as well. Everything is so clean and nicely decorated. You can tell the owner has made an effort to make the guests feel like home. It was so thoughtful of them to put a little fan in the room as well, thinking the summer is quite hot.

We arrived at 9:30 pm and our train was about 5:00 pm the next day. Sophie (the owner) waited until we arrived, and took time to show each of our rooms. We left the luggages at the hotel the next day so that we can wander around the town a bit. And they are very happy with looking after our bags for us.

The breakfast was excellent as well! Decent Wifi access. :)

Room Tip: If you consider walk from the train station to the hotel, I would not advise you to do so. It is act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shen_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were met by the owner Sophie who gave us our car parking permit to park in the road outside the hotel, we were then shown to our room which was very nicely decorated to a high standard and felt very cosy! The bed was very comfortable and great to be able to lie and watch the large t.v. on the wall! Sophie was very helpful in our hunt for a decent restaurant pointing us in the right direction and after a great meal we had a lovely nights sleep followed by a superb breakfast. We had decided to do some shopping on the Sunday and Sophie let us keep the permit whilst we were in town saving the car parking charge! A big thank you for your kind hospitality and would highly recommend this quality B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackleberry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Large family room double bed and two singles plenty of room lots of storage for clothes etc ensuite well appointed would definately recommend for a family of four/five full English breakfast set us up for the day would certainly stay again when visiting family

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

It was a real pleasure to stay at this small hotel. They have got everything right - good location, good service, friendly, nice clean rooms and a good breakfast. It all comes a reasonable price too. I would certainly recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing