We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended.”
Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #16 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night in the standard double and we very much enjoyed our stay. Perfect location with the town being just a short walk away (literally 3 mins slowish pace). hosts are very friendly and helpful. And parked right outside. Will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    51
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
66
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a very nice B and B in Cheltenham, UK. The location is easy to get to. Parking is on the street which is by permit supplied by your hosts. The streets were busy so we had to park a short distance away but that was not a major problem..the room we stayed in had 2 beds and was clean and comfortable. Our grown daughter was with us and we all had lot rd of space. The full English breakfast was delicious every morning.

Thanks to our hosts. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edh181798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Highlight was definitely the breakfast. So long as you're down by 9am you'll be treated to a lovely cooked breakfast by the hosts. Definitely one of the best BnB breakfasts I've had so far and would be delighted to have this at any restaurant.

Lowlight was dodgy/patching wifi that kept restarting particularly at weird times. The window in the single occupancy room was single glazed and as it faces a main road with a bus route, unfortunately the guest will hear every single car that passes all night long. Also the walls are paper thin - I heard the entire conversation of someone in the next room. It is a guesthouse though and not a soundproofed hotel. The "external" bathroom is down the hallway, approximately 6 metres away.

Rate booked via hotel sites booking.com was substantially higher than the advertised rate if you call/book directly.

Bed was made daily, however bins were not emptied and bathroom was not cleaned daily. Amenities such as soap was not replenished for longer term stays. I found the bed very comfortable and the hosts are lovely and obviously experienced at running their business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Situated within easy walking distance to the centre of Cheltenham.
This is the fourth time I have stayed at The Abbey and yet again, another very enjoyable and welcoming stay. The bedrooms are comfortable, clean and have TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom (shower only) is small. If you arrive by car The Abbey will give you a resident parking permit. There is a pay and display car park next to The Abbey, which is free from 8pm to 8am. The Abbey has a small honesty bar & lounge area, free WIFI Internet connection and a no smoking policy throughout the property.
Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff and welcoming owners.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just stayed one night here with a friend and booked last minute. Booked 2 separate single occupancy rooms as it worked out the same price as a shared room in other hotels. Was worried that it wouldn't be that great but it turned out to be a really nice guesthouse based right in the centre of Cheltenham so everything to hand, including the best Indian meal I've ever eaten at Prithvi just at the end of the road (see separate review!). We were given a parking permit to park just outside on the street which was very convenient. The rooms were a reasonable size, clean and well appointed. Small shower room rather than bathroom. The bar and dining room are small and bright though a little functional and lacking a little bit of atmosphere. The breakfast was nice with a good choice of options. Very pleasant owners who were very knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalizzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just having breakfast after second night here. Excellent service very friendly. When I called to say I would be arriving they were clearly expecting me, using my name and were very welcoming. Nothing is an issue, finding an umbrella for me on a rainy day. The food is great and location very handy for centre of town. Parking could be a bit of a problem at certain times of day, they have resident parking permits, but it took me a while to find a space near enough. There is also a pay and display car park next to the building which is free 8pm to 8am. I would highly recommend thus place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piadanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very reasonable rates for this beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean B & B. We found it with help from the Tourist Information Centre in Cheltenham and stayed for 2 nights. The welcome was warm and the facilities and design of the room were well thought out. The breakfast was bountiful and cooked to our liking. Would most definitely stay again when we travel to Cheltenham and Gloucester to see our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing