We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch”
Review of Strand

Strand
Ranked #187 of 448 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We went here for lunch on a recommendation and were not disappointed. The menu is lovely, the food freshly cooked and delicious with great service. A lovely little place, will definitely come back here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sallyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, wine and atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Went on NYE at about 5pm just before gong out for the night and it ticks all the boxes.
2 bottles of vino, two great sandwiches, good background music and atmosphere.

Prices reasonable too :-)

Helpful?
Thank NyallM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to eat good music and very lively”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Good food at good prices , outside space too!!! Very busy lively place , can be a bit noisy due to wood floors and high ceilings and lots of people , but a great great atmosphere , very friendly and worth a visit !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilly046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,868 reviews
1,046 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 910 helpful votes
“Good Food & Beer”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I had avoided this place in the past (for no real reason except it looked 'too young'?!) but went here on Friday for an Xmas get together with a crowd of 15 'grumpies'. I was pleasantly surprised as the food proved to be very good, the beer likewise and the service pretty good in quite tough circumstances. I will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This place used to be amazing. Great staff, good food, reasonable prices. In the last month or so standards really seem to have dropped. Whilst the food is still good the staff seem to have changed and service levels have dropped significantly. There was a tall guy with very short dark hair wearing a shirt and trousers who looked miserable as sin - I can only assume he was the manager as he was dressed more smartly. His standoffish attitude has obviously rubbed off on his staff who all seemed more interested in chatting amongst themselves than serving anyone their food and drinks. Used to come here a lot because the atmosphere was great - there was a lovely lad on the bar who knew me and my husband by name, I think his name was Eliot. He was always warm and welcoming, haven't seem him here in a while. Shame really, he was the perfect example of the service I expect when I visit a pub like the strand. If I wanted to sit in a faceless bar where I was just another customer I'd go to Wetherspoons.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strand also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Charlton Kings, Cheltenham
 

Been to Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing