We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strand

Strand
Ranked #193 of 441 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A very laid back place that's a good spot for lunch. we enjoyed the spiced lamb burger and the beetroot & goat's cheese salad, along with some very good beer.

Service and atmosphere were excellent and it could hardly be better located for visiting Cheltenham.

Downside? It is popular & gets busy, with numerous reserved tables, so a good idea to call & pre-book.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good beer and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Good range of real ales and decent food. My spicy lamb burger was excellent though my partner's cod dish was slightly small portion wise and a bit overpriced. Friendly service and events during the week e.g. live acoustic on Saturdays.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEZWICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I did go as part of a small group, but i have never waited so long for (pre-ordered) food. The service was friendly but largely absent, the food was not really worth the 90mins of anticipation - a fish cake starter that badly needed some flavour or a sauce, an overcooked main and a pudding that i cant remember a few days later. A pleasant atmosphere and enough of the right ingredients did not offset the overall disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edw0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“And the Dalmatian went too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Joined my daughter and son-in-law, plus their Dalmatian for the Wednesday night Burger special and glad I did. My Chicken Burger, with added bacon, was excellent and complimented well by side salad, wedges and toasted roll. My wife had the beef burger, with added bacon and egg, my daughter the lamb burger and the son-in-law the chicken burger with spicy sauces. We all enjoyed every bite. The girls enjoyed their New Zealand white wine and the son-in-law his cider. My diet coke, my usual drink, was the only let down as it lacked any taste, hence the mark down.
The service was excellent and friendly, the ambiance good and we will return to try their full menus which we could of had on the night.
Oh and they are very dog friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheltonian-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This bar has a nice laid back atmosphere, good wine and attentive staff. Most importantly, the Sunday roast was gorgeous and very good value too. Yum! I would definitely recommend trying it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strand also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Charlton Kings, Cheltenham
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing