We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue for dinner a deux”
Review of Purslane

Purslane
Ranked #7 of 449 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$43
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Critically-acclaimed, small, independent restaurant specialising in sustainable British seafood and local Cotswold produce.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for dinner a deux”
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely food beautifully presented, with thought given to flavour and texture combinations.
Friendly, intelligent but non-intrusive service.
Highly commended.

Helpful?
2 Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    97
    27
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exciting New Fish Restaurant”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We found out about this restaurant through the food and drink festival in cheltenham and waited in anticipation for it to open as we both love fish and seafood and this is exactly the type of place that Cheltenham needs. We have been twice now for lunch and loved it both times. There are two menus, the light lunch and the a la carte, the good thing is you can mix and match from both. The service is attentive without being too pushy, the server easily new and explained the menu so we could make informed choices. The food was fresh and very well presented, the fish was wonderfully cooked and the atmosphere was relaxed with a mixture of people eating, from office workers, couples and older generations. It can be as pricey or as cheap as you want and you don't have to only have fish, my husband, the meat eater, opted for the steak LOL he enjoyed his as much as i enjoyed mine and as per usual he started with the oysters which i also managed to sneakily partake of :) Very Tasty!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Lowthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic food, knowledgeable staff”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The atmosphere in the restaurant is very calm and relaxed. My husband and I ate here on the 20th October.
Food: we didn't have a starter but shared a plate of the home made breads, these were hot from the over and very light and tasty, the fennel seed bread was quite strong and even though I do not like aniseed I really enjoyed it. The spelt bread was lovely and the soda bread was to die for.
Main course I had the gunard which was really moist and melt in the mouth, with mushrooms and puy lentils, very tasty, and my husband had the hake, wich was presented beautifully and tasted as good as it looked.
We both had the cheese board for desert, which although didn't look huge when it came (yes I am greedy) out was more than adequate, with a good selection of locally sourced cheese.

There is a great selection of wine, which we were informed were hand picked can't fault it.

The service, apart from the food is where this restaurant excells. The waiting staff were attentive, constantly filling wine and water glasses, service with a smile and very friendly.
I was particularly impressed by their knowledge of the foods. The gentleman who I asked what some of the cheeses were, knew what they were, where they came from and how they tasted.

All in all we had a wonderful lunch and will definitely be going back again, and recommending it to others

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank keastclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a good restaurant.Would we go back again yes.The portions were the right size for us but they were on the small side, if you were hungry.The room was a bit on the cool side so take a cardigan.All in all very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice_leggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent fish”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lunched on a Saturday: excellent decor, friendly service. Good choice on the menu (mainly fish) plus a fixed price menu. We ate off both menus, the seafood was first class in quality and presentation. Also nice to have good wine available by the carafe. Great to have a good fish restaurant in Cheltenham

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlosRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purslane also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Purslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing