We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purslane

Purslane
Ranked #5 of 441 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$42
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Critically-acclaimed, small, independent restaurant specialising in sustainable British seafood and local Cotswold produce.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ate here on Saturday evening to celebrate a birthday. Intimate, cosy atmosphere inside with modern, elegant furnishings. Each course was intricately prepared and beautifully presented. Yes, portions are small but you are paying for high quality ingredients that are skillfully prepared by chefs. If you want big hearty portions, visit a pub or high street chain. The 3 courses arrived at a leisurely pace and this was stated quite clearly on the menu, we were more than happy to take our time and have pauses in between each course. The manageress went out of her way to talk us through each dish as they arrived (and all 5 of us had a different starter!), carefully explaining the ingredients, flavours and cooking techniques. After 3 courses we left pleasantly full, not stuffed. It was a treat to try all these beautiful ingredients and to have food presented in such a special way. The down to earth manageress and waitresses managed to create an atmosphere that was relaxed, far from pretentious or stuffy. Well worth a visit for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We don't like to rush our customers through their meals as invariably they've come to relax and enjoy their evening, just as you said. Saturdays and Fridays are usually the busiest nights of the week so it's always a challenge trying to balance waiting times between diners while making sure the food is still given all the attention it needs. Hopefully we manage to keep that balance more often than not.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    93
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So near yet so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

10 out of 10 for effort, service and presentation. However, we just weren't blown away by the food. It was all well cooked, just didn't excite. Definitely could just be personal taste so well worth trying for yourself. We had a nice evening there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Ever so sorry to hear we didn't quite hit the mark for you. It would be interesting to hear which dishes you ate when you dined with us so we can look at possible improvements for the future.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at Purslane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is the second time we have visited and the lunch was superb on both occasions.
I had Salcombe Bay Crab with sea vegetables. It was in a jelly which was so refreshing.
For dessert I had a yummy cherry tart so incredibly light, with black cherry sorbet and also whole cherries on the plate. My son had fresh whiting with white sprouting. The food was fresh and delicious the service was also great. The price is not too expensive. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for excellent food at a reasonable price

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We're very glad you have enjoyed your lunches with us. The crab was very popular on April's menu, I think because it was so refreshing as you say.
If you enjoyed the cherry tart you must try the chocolate terrine if you come again during May. It's a wonder it makes it as far as the table with my sweet tooth in the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Growing up in Cheltenham, for special nights out when returning to visit family, establishments such as The Daffodil or Le Champignon Sauvage spring to mind with prices to match. This time I was visiting without the normal family visiting, and so left my other half in charge of picking a restaurant. He stumbled across this place - and I aren't I glad he did!

The atmosphere was cost without being cramped, the service attentive without being pushy. It is in the centre of town but on the right street to avoid bar & club drunk people traffic (that admittedly contributed to in the not so distant past).

The food primarily focused on seafood. The dishes hit a familiar note with some top ranking establishments in London ( a crab starter reminded me of crab served 3 ways has at Alain Ducasse) that was 90% there, but at a fraction of the price in a more relaxed and intimate setting. A warm trout starter has by my boyfriend won out the crab, but my main of sole edged out his of sea bream. Oddly one of the highlights was the freshly made bread which is a must to order. The dessert - that we were hesitant to have as we were stuffed by this point and only one of us likes the sweet element of the meal, was unexpectedly the knock out star. Rhubarb, gingerbread, ginger bread icecream...it was deconstructed, lots of skills on show - but the main point - it tasted absolutely fantastic. Stupidly we shared this - main advice on this - don't share.

Altogether lovely evening, definitely one at the top of the list for a great Saturday dinner out, and food special enough to book for an occasion. Yes it's on the pricey side (starters £8, £18 for one of the five mains on offer) but in most gastro pubs you look at starters for £6 and mains £12 it is miles ahead in delivering top notch quality ingredient excellent chef determined food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you ever so much for your kind words. Gareth is very humbled to have his food compared to such a culinary heavyweight as Alain Ducasse. If you think the dishes we produce are 90 per cent of the way to being 3 Michelin stars, the guys in the kitchen are very happy! Hope you come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant in every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came to Cheltenham for a night away, so glad we decided to eat here. Booking the meal they asked if there were any dietary issues, good start! It was really good, they even marked which dishes could not be dairy free. Good imaginative menu, perfectly cooked. The service was faultless. An excuse to visit this lovely city again. Thanks again----oh and it was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rvrman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Very pleased we were able to make your visit to Cheltenham so worthwhile, thank you for leaving your review. We try to find out about any dietary requests at booking rather than on the night so we can make alterations wherever possible and therefore the diner has as many choices as possible. Glad we were able to offer you that and do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purslane also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Purslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing