We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, tasty, fresh, well cooked food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Pirandello - CLOSED

Ristorante Pirandello
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled in the heart of Cheltenham's fashionable Promenade, Ristorante Pirandello is one of Cheltenham's best-kept secrets. The friendly and welcoming staff ensure that the Pirandello provides a vibrant and relaxed atmosphere, filled with music and conversation. Traditional chic and modern elements fuse together seamlessly resulting in a vibrant and contemporary dining experience.The food is uniquely creative, reasonably priced and some of the best you'll find in Cheltenham! Using the freshest, quality ingredients (many locally sourced) ensures that every dish is turned out perfectly. To start, why not treat yourself to fresh oysters, served over ice with lemon, shallot salsa and hot pepper sauce followed with medallions of free range pork fillet, topped with slow roasted vegetables, fresh basil, baked goats cheese & sage oil. For those of you seeking a challenge, why not tackle our signature 28-day aged 24oz locally sourced Ribeye steak with hand cut chips, slow roast tomatoes, baked mushroom and leaf salad...To finish, select from our tantalizing range of freshly made desserts.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, tasty, fresh, well cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

In town for the festival and being turned away from Prezzo as we didn't have a booking we were delighted to find this place. A definite step up from the standard chain-restaurant fare, the service was impeccable. The menu offered some slightly adventurous combinations which may or may not prove popular but the quality of the food, in terms of both the freshness and the cooking, was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaMary00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Limited menu and food not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Visited this restaurant as we wanted Italian food. No pasta at all on the list so ordered a steak. No atmosphere at all in the restaurant and no one came back to us to see if we wanted another drink. No breads, table water or anything offered whilst waiting for main course. The food came out my steak which was £19 was tough and burnt.

Very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichola8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous new menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

It's been several months since we last went to Pirandello and is was great to see they have a fabulous new menu. It was difficult to choose but opted for the pan fried chicken breast with haricot bean and pancetta risotto which was really delicious followed by citrus lemon tart which was to die for! The staff were really friendly and efficient and the warm and cosy atmosphere really makes a change from some of the bigger chain type restaurants around the town. Can't wait till our next visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had eaten here many years ago with my (then!) husband, but hadn't been back in recent years; however I had always enjoyed it, so decided to give the restaurant another go when a Living Social deal was offered. We initally had trouble catching each other on the phone to confirm the booking so resorted to text - as a result when we finally arrived, we were made to feel like old friends! The evening continued in a similarly good way with excellent food and friendly service and we will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have eaten here twice in the last few weeks. Once on a Friday, when the restaurant was almost empty, and last week on a Wednesday when it was full (very strange)
on both occasions that sauces complimented the dishes very well. Our party had a good spread of dishes, and everyone said how good they were. You have to say someone knows how to cook Italian here!
The slight let down is the service. Although very friendly, the don't appear to "keep an eye on you". You will wait for drinks orders, (I asked twice for a second bottle of wine) and there will be big time lapses between courses. Maybe this is just the Italian way, as eating always seams to take an age when in Italy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigermike321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pirandello also viewed

Kineton, Cheltenham
Woodmancote, Cheltenham
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Prestbury, Cheltenham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing