We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub”
Review of Royal Union Inn

Royal Union Inn
Ranked #165 of 448 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Please note. The Royal Union is firstly a Pub. We just happen to turn out great food from our tiny kitchen. If you're looking for Michelin Starred, there's one up the road. If you want traditional food, well prepared, cooked and served in a relaxed informal atmosphere, look no further. Tucked away in the Tivoli area of Cheltenham which is half way between the Town's Railway Station and it's centre. Specialising in real ales (8 generally available)and sharing meals for two to thirty people (Legs of Lamb, Ribs of Beef, Shoulders of Pork, whole chickens and 20oz Steaks). The sharing Sunday roasts are fab. Friendly staff and locals create an almost unique atmosphere. No blaring piped music but live Jazz on Sunday nights. A great place if you like character and class.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful pub with very friendly ambience and fantastic food. Don't need to change a thing! Almost want to keep it a secret though as selfishly don't want it to get so busy that you can't find a seat!

Visited April 2014
Thank Pewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A real pub, George Orwell would approve”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We happened upon this pub after viewing a house nearby. The Royal Union was a pleasant surprise and a real plus for the area. It's a proper pub that also serves meals. Although we only stopped for drinks, the menu looked good. This pub reminded me of George Orwell's essay on his perfect imagined London pub, which he named the Moon Under Water.

From Orwell's list:
Close to a bus stop, in a sidestreet, a large clientele including lots of regulars (who all had bunches of asparagus to take home), a cosy log fire in the back bar, quiet enough to talk, friendly atmosphere.

My list:
Dog friendly, three draught ciders on offer, newspapers and plenty of games on a shelf, reasonable bar prices and plenty of sofas and armchairs to relax in.

I would love to have a pub like this as my local, but I'd find it very hard to walk by without stopping for a drink, though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank sussexblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty home-cooked in a laid back atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had the slow roasted Portuguese chicken with chips and Mediterranean veggies. Food was full of flavour and very tasty. The woman who took our order was super friendly as was the chef in the kitchen. The pub itself is very unstuffy and not a hint of 'corporate' about it. Great real ale selection which are well kept. All the right ingredients to make a successful free house!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cachonfinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really disappointing meal”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We chose the Royal Union while on a weekend in Cheltenham, purely based on excellent Trip Advisor reviews. I'm sorry to say I had a really dreadful meal: the chips were frozen (not home mad as advertised) and the fish probably was too but more importantly the batter was thick and soggy. The salad dressing was very spicy which I found strange with fish and chips and as it was already added there was nothing I could do about this. The only positive was the staff. They explained they'd changed over to frozen chips but in that case the menu should be changed. We were offered a complimentary drink and whilst we drank that the member of staff returned and gave us a full refund. That's why I've given 2 stars. I hate doing negative reviews but it really ruined our evening in what was a short weekend away.

Visited March 2014
4 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin C, Owner at Royal Union Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
My heart sank when I saw this review this morning. We work so hard in our little Freehouse pub to ensure we offer a relaxing, welcoming, friendly and delicious evening. So we were upset that you felt that your evening was spoilt on Saturday. We wish we had known sooner how unhappy you were - as we could have offered an alternative meal but unfortunately you had both finished your meals. You had loved the wine and real ale - so we quickly got you a free round of drinks and paid for your meals, as a way to compensate.

Your feedback is incredibly important to us. We are now going to bring the salad dressings to the table and provide the opportunity for customers to dress their own side salads.. We had been trialling the Steak Cut Chunky Chips as an alternative to the hand cut chips for three days prior to your visit. As I explained on the evening, we had unfortunately forgotten to change the menus on the table - which was an oversight on our part. We have had great feedback about the change of chips - so our menus have all since been changed to reflect this.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We hope that the next time you are in Cheltenham - you will be able to pop in and have a lovely evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited Cheltenham for the races this week. We had another lovely meal in a fantastic vibrant atmosphere. The party on the table next to us were obviously racegoers and drunk and were overly loud but the lady at front of house dealt with it effectively, without fuss. How nice to go somewhere and know that the management will deal with unpleasantness in a cool professional manner. Keep it up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AntonFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Union Inn also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds

Been to Royal Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing