We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!”
Review of House-in-the-Tree

House-in-the-Tree
Ranked #16 of 453 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We popped in on the off chance for lunch a couple of Sunday's ago. I had guessed the restaurant would be full and it was, luckily there was a table free in the bar. Our lunch was delicious! The homemade burger (really was), chicken and bacon baguette very tasteful and a meal from the childrens menu.
Much to our little ones delight the outside area had play equipment and lots of space for children to run around safely. They even have pigs, goats and chickens outside which was a popular attraction for the children.
The toilets are very clean and they have a baby changing area with wipes and nappy bags which I thought was great idea.
We will definitely be returning, especially with the Summer approaching!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lill2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    157
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade food.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went to lunch with some friends, found the staff friendly and the food was served in good time.
(It wasn't busy when we went) The food was nicely cooked and good size portions especially the steak and ale pie that my friend had. None of this meat slopped into a bowl with a pastry lid. I had the steak with mushrooms, tomatoes, peas, chips and onion rings. (Why does every restaurant that serves this meal only gives you 3-4 onion rings. ?)
Desserts were lovely as well. :)
We did go when it wasn't busy, so not sure how service would be when busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent upper end pub food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We used to go to this pub restaurant regularly some years ago and recently went again. Very friendly atmosphere / staff. Reasonable menu at acceptable prices. Food was fine. No complaints. Always seems quite busy these days so best to book ahead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAC1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Decent evening meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Haven't been here for a very long time so decided to pay a visit .Four of us went here last night and arrived at a very very busy pub Luckily we had called to reserve a table. We sat outside for a drink beforehand and that was very pleasant as much quieter than the inside.
Was disappointed that they had a limited menu and no specials but did manage to find something to eat. (was told that this was because it was Bank Holiday) Food was good as was the service but plates were bulked out by overload of chips.
A nice experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROS881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, in the absence of the pub having own webpage, thought it worth a visit for birthday celebration. V. disappointed .....

a) on booking we weren't informed that there was only roast dinner available

b) the quality was poor - veg limited to red cabbage - ok, cauli - too hard (and I like al dente), potatoes - tasteless, carrots - ok ish.

c) vegetarian option was very poor, pastry hard and inedible and filling tasteless

The only reason I didn't complain was my companions prefer me not to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House-in-the-Tree also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to House-in-the-Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing