We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just gets better and better.”
Review of House in the Tree

House in the Tree
Ranked #26 of 516 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 18 August 2015

succulent meat perfect presentation and great service.will be back again with work colleges.cant wait for bank holiday weekend dont miss it lots going on .great beer great food

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chrisann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 474 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2015

We visited on a Monday evening and received a friendly welcome and were shown to our table without delay. We were glad we had pre-booked as many of the tables were reserved.

Our party chose the rump steaks, with mushroom and onion rings, the steak and ale pie and trio of sausages with mash and onion gravy. All the food was served promptly and was well presented. In addition it was absolutely piping hot - something I am a stickler for! All of the food was cooked to perfection. The steaks were tender, the sausages were local and each one a different flavour, the steak and ale pie contained quality, tender meat. The portions were generous.

We treated ourselves to desserts: lime and lemon cheesecake with cream, sticky toffee pudding and cream, ice cream and home made chocolate Baileys profiteroles. All were absolutely delicious!

There is a small garden area to sit in as well and the pets area is nice for children .

Highly recommended and we will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We went to the House in the Tree for a birthday meal - everything was lovely - the food, the venue - and the staff were particularly friendly and helpful. We had arrived by taxi from a nearby hotel and we felt we had been overcharged by the taxi driver. When we mentioned this to the restaurant staff, the lady took it upon herself to try and find us a better price from the taxi firm for our return journey to the hotel. When this proved unsuccessful the manager himself gave us a lift back in his own car - and because there were six of us he made two trips! Outstanding kindness and hospitality! Thank you so much!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank beponotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Went for Sunday roast and ordered "Rare Roast Beef" (their description not mine)... No pink in sight, well done and very small portion. Came with 3 small chunks of roast potatoes. Decent amount of veg. Took less than 5 minutes to finish it. Could easily eat double the portion but 50% extra would be a sensible portion for an adult. Cost £9.95 so not a cheap roast. Not quite a 3 star in my experience today.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank LordC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

All good food at reasonable prices and real ale ...sorted
Sat outside with our dog
Large garden area

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank jockyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House in the Tree also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to House in the Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing