We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning next visit”

The Beehive Pub Cheltenham
Ranked #62 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Planning next visit”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Received a warm welcome as we stepped through the door. The new management have already made some improvements and by the looks of things there's plenty more to come too. We had a couple of drinks and a sandwich each. The menu looks fantastic so we're already planning to return and attack the evening menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    58
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Olde school pub with a rustic feel”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the last proper pubs in Cheltenham located on the outskirts of Montpellier but we'll worth hunting out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal but expensive”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Gastro-pubs in Cheltenham seem thin on the ground and we've had some bad experiences in the city before, so my wife and I thought we'd try this place as a result of its good reviews. We came on a Tuesday: the upstairs restaurant was closed so we had a bar meal in the 'Snug'.

We were given a warm and friendly welcome, service was efficient and the food was good, as was the ambience with some very listenable music played. The bookcase with a selection of books was a quirky idea, and the joke book was quite fun, though some abstruse philosophical works seemed rather out of place. The toilets were fine though an extra coat of paint in a few areas wouldn't go amiss.

The only reasons I could not give this pub a 'very good' rating (what a pity there's no 'above average' or 'good' option) were, firstly, the Snug area was quite cold. The small radiator couldn't compete with the double doors to the street being left open, and the main fire was off. I did manage to close one door after a while but it made little difference. Also the type of tables and chairs and the lack of character in the room made it feel like being in a cafe.

As a result the food and drink seemed over-priced for the surroundings in which it was served. £35.90 for two fish & chips and a bottle of house red seemed a bit steep in the circumstances. Also no starters or desserts available, which was a shame as other pubs can do them with bar food.

But overall not bad, and much better than many such places in Cheltenham.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“tradition English Pub”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

been there with Dog. shame my dog didnt order a drink. so waiter just gave her one bowl of water for dog. good for her. food is really good. fresh and delicious and not bad price. location is not far from where i stay just behind montpellier house turn left will see at the corner

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patinya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
200 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great birthday meal”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great birthday lunch at the Beehive. Started with a great welcome at the bar and we went to our table which was ready for us. I chose prawns with a sweet chilli dip and steak for main course. The food was really nicely presented and tasted delicious. My only complaint was what wasn't in the menu. I couldn't see sauces, I normally like Peppercorn. I also couldn't see sides such as garlic bread.
That's said it was a great meal, good drink selection, I'd definitely come again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavePGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beehive Pub Cheltenham also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Beehive Pub Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing