We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”
Review of Kingsmuir Hotel

Kingsmuir Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingsmuir Hotel
Ranked #58 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you are on a budget and looking for value for money then the Kingsmuir is entirely adequate. It is in a lovely residential area with the most beautiful park just a short walk away. The hotel is fantastic for links to all parts of The Cotwolds and was that taken advantage of during our 5 night stay! If you want luxury then get your wallet out, if you don't mind a bit of woodchip, some old furniture but extremely clean bedding and bathroom then use what you save for some good days out. The steam railway at Cheltenham Race Course takes some beating, don't miss the signposts.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The saying often goes you get what you pay for and that is exactly what you will get here i'm not knocking the place but for the price you pay its not going to be the hilton. I was happy staying there yes it smelt a bit odd and the room was basically just a basement room but the bathroom was clean and the beds very comfy the in room fridge was very sparse but as it was only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town i was able to find plenty to put in it.the keyless entry was a nice touch and at least the codes for the doors worked.as i know i only stayed here the one night but i would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a fair attempt at a budget hotel (step up from youth hostel), let down by the appalling smell of the place, which also permeates the corridoors - avoid !! The Tourist Information Office can recommend better budget alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ScouseDrNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having read the reviews we weren't sure what to expect, but having stayed there, we'd go back. If you want somewhere not too expensive, clean, comfortable, friendly, with a plentiful breakfast and in a great location, this is perfect. If you're after a more style-led, top end hotel, this probably isn't for you.

Our room was clean, bright and very comfortable. Generally the furniture, carpets and 'artwork' are a little tired, but the place was freshly painted and nice and bright. True the wing chair wouldn't find a place in my home, but nothing a cover/throw from the back of the radio times wouldn't put right. I'd also be tempted to replace the yester-year nic nacs with a simple vase of fresh flowers.

But for what you pay, this is great. The manager couldn't be nicer or more helpful, and the breakfast of eggs, ham, cheese, toast, yoghurt, tea cakes, tea, juice, cereal... set us up for the day.

Room Tip: It's on a quiet side-circle, I think you'd be fine in any room - the back overlooks a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip_n_Chelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

arrived at hotel mid-afternoon,a young man took our bags up two flights of stairs then unfortunatly it went down hill from there.The room was very old fashioned, furniture must have been from the 1930s,there was a kettle but nothing else for tea making,bathroom was very small with a small vanity sink.It was very cold there was no heating on,Arm-chair should have gone to the local tip a long time ago,curtains where not adequate,did not keep light out or heat in,breakfast was poor so gave that a miss,we are sorry cannot recomend.p.hobson

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

On arrival at the Kingsmuir Hotel my fiends and I were a little unsure as the host greeted us explaining that he'd been trying to get in touch as there was an issue with our booking. We had booked two twin rooms, but he only had one twin and one double. This wasn't the greatest start, but we were open to see how this could be resolved.

The manager was very apologetic, and showed us the available rooms, and offered to set up an extra bed in the double room. One of our party was only staying one night, so we was elected to take this bed. The manager then offered to specially prepare us all a cooked breakfast the for our two night stay to make up for the error, we we gratefully accepted.

The breakfast he provided was excellent, clearly featuring good quality ingredients, and he couldn't do enough to help us, asking if there was anything else he could do to help. Although the situation with the room wasn't ideal, we were all impressed with the efforts he went to to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The hotel is a grand Georgian villa, and although its a little faded, the rooms were clean and reasonably spacious with high ceilings and sash windows. There is a pleasant garden at the rear, a small amount of parking space at the front, and the centre of Cheltenham can be reached on foot in about 15-20 mins. The en suite bathrooms are clearly later additions, but are perfectly functional. Let's be clear - this isn't a fancy hotel, but for the money we paid we were very happy. Staying in a Premier Inn may have been more predictable, but would have lacked the personal touch, curiosity and charm of the Kingsmuir.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we booked this hotel for 1 evening. the hotel needs completely updated, it is tired and not impressive when you get inside. was shown to our room, not impressed at all. the kettle in the room was disgusting, so we had that changed. then discovered no towels in the bathroom, had to go and find the only person that seemed to be running the hotel. the paper was coming off the ceiling, the bathroom was grubby. if we had not have paid we would have left. the next morning went down to breakfast and it was literally all help yourself.cereal, toast and yoghurt. even the tea and coffee was not fresh. the toaster wasn't working, so he had to change that. it was like something from fawlty towers. he did apologise, the owner didn't live there, what a surprise. he did apologise for the poor standards, what does that tell you. would never stay there

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cottam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.3 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
255 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
415 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
671 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmuir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmuir Hotel

Address: Pittville Circus, Cheltenham GL52 2PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £58 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsmuir Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsmuir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing