We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of L'Artisan

L'Artisan
Ranked #6 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The genuine French Restaurant of Cheltenham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner & I visited this restaurant Friday evening and were extremely impressed with the food, service and atmosphere. Lovely French cuisine and we were made to feel so welcomed, really cosy setting and worth every penny.

We can't wait to eat here again and introduce this little gem to friends and family.

Lois & Kevin
Visited Friday 30th May 2014

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    92
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been to L'Artisan twice now and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are all welcoming and friendly and can't do enough for you. The menu is superb so it's difficult to choose, particularly as everything we have tasted has been fantastic and full of flavour (I am craving the chocolate fondant!). The whole atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious and I can't wait to go back again for another perfect meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I went with a friend to L'Artisan Restaurant in Cheltenham for the first time on Saturday 3rd May 2014 for lunch, it is without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever had. I can honestly say that the whole experience was wonderful. The food was exquiste, it looked beautiful and tasted sublime, everything was made from scratch, and there were so many lovely unexpected touches, for example the amuse bouche served between our starter and main; or the tiny cupcake of chocolate ganache which came with our delicious and perfectly prepared coffee. The service was amazing, everything was faultless. We were completely astonished by the excellence and I cannot recommend it enough to the discerning diners amongst you who love really good food and time to linger over it. We left full of Joie de vivre.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harriett97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great addition to Cheltenham restaurants”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visited L'artisan in early May 2014 for a light lunch, but having read through the menu we ended up enjoying one of the loveliest meals we have had in Cheltenham (and we've had quite a few). L'artisan not only served up great food (pear sorbet ummm) but the feel of the restaurant and service was exactly what you expect and want in a French restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An excellent place for special occasions, very attentive staff and beautiful food! Would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bananat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Artisan also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to L'Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing