We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday surprise”
Review of 81 The Prom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
81 The Prom
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband arranged for us to stay the night at 81 The Prom, for my 50th Birthday. He booked the Balcony room and had asked the proprietor to arrange for a dozen red roses, box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne to be in the room.

The proprietor's were extremely friendly and very welcoming and could not do enough for us. On our return to the hotel late at night, they welcomed us to the bar and arranged for my husband to sample their cooking (the restaurant was closed but my husband loves Indian food). As we had already eaten, they packaged the food up and presented it to us on the morning of our departure. They very kindly waived the fee for two cocktails and the food, as a birthday present for me. I ate the curry that night and the flavours were delicious.

The breakfast was very good and again, the service was impeccable.

The overall impression of the hotel was very clean, modern and the hosts were very accommodating.

We would have no hesitation in returning and would definifely eat there when we do.

Room Tip: The room we had was a bit pricey ~ £165 for the both of us, but as a special treat, you couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 93 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel overnight. Lovely friendly welcome by Mr and Mrs Boyal who could not do enough for us and other guests. The room was spotlessly clean, along with the bathroom, large fresh towels and large bed. Full english breakfast served in the morning which was excellent. All in all a lovely hotel, situated a minutes walk from the town and parks etc. Free parking outside hotel between 6pm and 8am. Would recommend the cocktail bar downstairs, lovely cocktails and atmosphere. Would recommend 81 the prom to anyone who wanted to visit Cheltenham or surrounding area. Our visit was to attend the air tattoo at Fairford,.also well worth the visit.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the front of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallworthfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel this weekend. I was very impressed with the rooms and standard of hygiene. There were steps but the staff were fabulous and managed all our luggage for us. I was further impressed by breakfast and the Indian cuisine later on in the day. The owners went out of their way to be accommodating and made our stay very welcoming and comfortable.There are a range of rooms for different guests and we stayed in the family room. It was good as it has a separate door with an integral 2 room split giving extra security for younger children. I would strongly recommend this place as it is not commercial and therefore suitable for families and all types of guest really. The price was reasonable, food to start and end your day making it much easier to stay even if it was for business. I happened on it by chance as i was with family, but will keep it in mind next time i am also working in the area. Great fresh feel to the rooms, clean and spacious relative to cost. Good find!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Antonella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 81 The Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 81 The Prom

Address: 81 Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Cheltenham
Price Range: £99 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 81 The Prom 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 en suite bedrooms in this beautiful guesthouse set in a listed regency building overlooking the flowerbeds of the Promenade and boutique shops of Cheltenham No lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your 81 The Prom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing