We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of 81 The Prom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
81 The Prom
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night in the deluxe room. The room is really nicely decorated and upon arrival we were greeted warmly and shown where to park. This is really good because parking was included in our booking which is a real bonus as It can be expensive in the centre of Cheltenham. This guest house is right in the centre of the more upmarket part of Cheltenham. There are loads of choices for restaurants and bars within walking distance. We hadn't made a reservation and found that when ringing at 6pm for eating at 8.30, most restaurants were fully booked. We should have thought about this beforehand. This guest house does have an Indian restaurant attached and although the food smelt delicious we wanted to go out into the town to explore. We ended up eating in a Zizzi restaurant which was located in a converted church - very impressive environment!
Breakfast was really nice and the owners even took time to chat and recommend activities for our day ahead. They also let us remain in the allocated parking space while we explored the shops of Cheltenham. The only slight downside I would say is that with the window open on a warm evening it was quite noisy from the promenade below. This wasn't people staying at the guest house but people walking down the promenade. My husband didn't wake up at all so it probably wouldn't bother most people.
Overall I would recommend staying here as the location is ideal for shopping, sightseeing, eating and partying.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is recommended as it has a brilliant view of the promenade and you have the allocated pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzamail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
51
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

stayed at this hotel 28 to 29 of june 2014 could not fault it in anyway lovely greeting beautiful bedroom wonderful breakfast all provided by a very nice family would recommend it to anyone dining room becomes a wonderful punjabi restraurant at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
337 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Small hotel but in a great location in the centre of Cheltenham. Unfortunately we got a tiny double room up 66 stairs which was barely large enough for a single bed - not ideal and best avoided. Another quirky trait is that you need to place your breakfast order the previous day and also specify what time you'd like breakfast which is something I've never come across before. On the plus side, and there are many, Rani and Raj are a lovely couple who can't do enough for you. Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous, probably one of the best Indian meals I've ever had and if you stay here it would be a crime not to sample their superb Punjabi cuisine. The cocktail bar is lively too and aesthetically is quite spectacular. In summary we'll probably return but only if we could stay in one of the larger bedrooms, preferably the one with the balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fantastic family run hotel centrally located in Cheltenham. We were there for two nights visiting the city during the Great British Ukulele Festival.

Very friendly welcome. Owners couldn't do enough for us.

Also, as they hail from the Punjab, the food available in their restraurant is WONDERFUL!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: We were at the back and slept well but the rooms at the front would be quieter still and have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plopbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is one of those places that on arrival, you're slightly unsure, I think because of the Indian restaurant on the way in - but I can assure you it is a great place. The rooms are large, newly decorated, clean and comfortable. the owners are fabulous and friendly, they make you feel very welcome. The cocktail bar under the hotel is run by their son, he definitely knows how to mix and shake.

I was there on business for one night, it was extremely pleasant - I will book again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rani, Raj and family are great! So friendly and helpful! The Prom 81 is very well decorated, comfortable and clean. We stayed in a room with the balcony. It was so nice in the morning having our coffee/tea on the balcony overlooking the Promenade. Also a great place to relax any time of day. The restaurant was excellent and the optional Punjabi breakfast was wonderful! They do a fine job in making sure you are welcomed, comfortable, and happy, be it with your room, in the restaurant or the bar. It is a very well managed and maintained property. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyR9755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well what can you say about 81 The Prom,from the wonderful welcome by Rani & Raj from entering the Number 1 Balcony Room to late night cocktails beautifully prepared by Ravi in the 81 Bar downstairs our visit was a joy. Raj welcomed us at breakfast and provided a unique insight into Punjabi cooking with his delightful Brattas (excuse any spelling mistakes please Raj) a breakfast fit for a King. the room was immaculate and although the Bathroom was small for a Gentleman of my comfortable girth it was beautifully appointed and equipped. All in all the attention to detail was superb and made the weekend more enjoyable. We WILL be back!!!
Free Wifi was a bonus... a great Hotel ideally placed to visit the centre of Cheltenham. Enjoy One and All...

Room Tip: We only experienced the Balcony room which Raj and Rani say is their best so do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
963 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 81 The Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 81 The Prom

Property: 81 The Prom
Address: 81 Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 81 The Prom 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 en suite bedrooms in this beautiful guesthouse set in a listed regency building overlooking the flowerbeds of the Promenade and boutique shops of Cheltenham No lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your 81 The Prom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing