We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Tarragon Restaurant - CLOSED

Tarragon Restaurant
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We Have a basement restaurant for private parties.
Chedworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I really do recommend a meal at Tarragon - the restaurant itself was lovely, the service fast and really welcoming and the food was wonderful. I will definitely be returning. Thank you

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 620alices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    48
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“great reviews promised so much...”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went to the restaurant on the basis of the other reviews because we were new to Cheltenham and didn't know where to go. We were there on the 28th Dec, and were one of only 3 couples there., so it was rather dead for a Saturday night, but we thought we'd try it anyway. The waiter was fantastic and friendly, and the wine was good, but I'm afraid the food was not so fantastic. The scallops to start were delicious, but the venison liver pate/terrine was inedible, it had a very strong bitter flavour and was served with only a tiny piece of melba toast. The waiter was excellent though, and realised the starter was no good, and a second starter was provided for free. The main courses, steak with anaemic chips, and wild duck , were pretty uninspiring especially given the approx £20 a dish price tag. We won't be going back because we live miles away, but also because there must be better places in Cheltenham to get dinner for two for £80...but perhaps they were just having an off night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fab restaurant!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went for our Christmas party- the service was brilliant, atmosphere warm and welcoming and the food was second to none- couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peawallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great all-round experience”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Tarragon last Saturday evening. Very busy because races were on but we managed to get a table for 6 downstairs. Lovely warm atmosphere and friendly staff.
The food was excellent and we look forward to going again in February when we are in Cheltenham again.

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“lovely lunch, great location, menu, superb presentation and good service”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A Saturday lunch on small business weekend in Cheltenham ensured we visited the Montpelier St area of the city (last stumbled on by accident during a park and ride journey) and spotted this restaurant. The lunch menu looked great so after a spot of retail therapy, we called in as a 'chance' booking. service was impeccable, great food and drink well presented and great tasting.
Having dined at a michelin starred chef's bistro and recently had their burger, can only say this burger was much better. well presented, tasty and portion size just right for lunch. pumpkin soup starter was great in taste and consistency.
Delightful restaurant - we'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tarragon Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing