We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KIBOUsushi

KIBOUsushi
Ranked #7 of 440 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: KIBOUsushi is a small but perfectly formed, award winning, Japanese Ramen & Sushi Bar, serving all things Japanese. At KIBOUsushi you will be able to try our delicious RAMEN - the freshest SUSHI AND SASHIMI - TEMPURA - GYOZA - YAKI SOBA - KATSU CURRY - TERIYAKI - DONBURRI - JYU - UDON - TAKOYAKI - SORBETS - MOCHI - ALL KINDS OF TEA INCLUDING GREEN AND JASMINE - COFFEE AND MUCH MORE. We also offer a Gluten Free menu and are very happy to advise on vegetarian options. Booking is recommended as we are very small. Come in and see what all the fuss is about; we look forward to welcoming you at KIBOUsushi.
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited today for lunch after being highly recommended by a friend, was not disappointed! The food was fresh and authentic and full of flavour! Not like the run over the mill branded version from yo sushi! Our waitress was lovely and recommended our dishes for our budget and gave us a varied taste of their menu! The presentation was so intricate. Will defiantly be returning and recommend to anyone who fancies "trying Japanese the authentic way"

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We'd like to thank you for taking the trouble to write such a positive review of your visit to KIBOUsushi - please come again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    57
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland sushi and uncomfortable atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited for my wife's birthday due to the other glowing reviews as well as our love for sushi.

We were crammed into our seats no more than a foot away from another table of guests and didn't really feel comfortable or relaxed the whole time we were there. The service was poor throughout, for example, we were going to order dessert but no one actually came to ask if we wanted any.

Chewy rubbery squid and unseasoned gyoza didn't give the greatest first impression of the food. However, we could have overlooked all of that had the sushi been exceptional. But it really wasn't...the fish on the nigiri was dry and tasteless. The rolls had a measly amount of bland fish in them and the rice seemed overly sticky. The non 'sushi' things on the menu, from the look of the plates going passed us, actually looked much better. It was just very average for us and in terms of the sushi, I've had better at Yo!

We wanted it to be great and for the price expected it to be great, but it was overall massively disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AdamFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
There is not a lot I can say to this review other than to advise you that there is a Yo Sushi in Cheltenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a good sushi place while in Cheltenham and couldn't have been happier with KIBOUsushi! The staff were friendly, it had a nice atmosphere and music, and the food was great. I would've liked to see more menu options, but there was a decent selection nonetheless. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank blackmamba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review review and we hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londkn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bento box. YESS ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great sushi every time but recently I tried the bento box. Wow. It had everything!! Chicken teriyaki and rice, veg, salad & sushi! It was divine and the perfect balanced meal! Thank you, see you soon for more!!! Xx

Helpful?
Thank leyladerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you; what more can we say?
We do try our best to deliver and your comments make us very happy......:-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi, great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I have already been here few times. Each time the food is just delicious and it is a very good value too. The only drawback is that they do sometimes get very busy so the service might be a bit slow. However, all staff is always friendly and polite.

Helpful?
Thank ms1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review; we are delighted that you have enjoyed your visits to KIBOUsushi and have very much taken your comments on board; hopefully see you again soon.
Kind regards The KIBOUsushi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KIBOUsushi also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to KIBOUsushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing