We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel,good location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cheltenham Townhouse
Ranked #8 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel,good location and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Lovely central hotel,smartly decorated,friendly staff,excellent breakfast.bathroom could be improved but powerful shower.would definatly go back and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne-Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    185
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
287
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from two nights at The Cheltenham Townhouse and would recommend it to anyone. The location is great, only a couple of minutes from the two centre. The property itself is tastefully decorated and the rooms are comfortable and inviting. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, the quality was fantastic, definitely one of the best I have tasted for some time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

A gem of a hotel.
Just outside of the city center and very close to the birthplace of the composer Gustav Holst. This clean bright airy hotel situated on a gated road (one end) is both peaceful and also stylish. The rooms are boutique in décor and well furnished. I stayed in room 15 and it was ample is size, large en suite bathroom with an excellent rainforests shower head in an oversized cubicle with a good selection of high quality soaps, gel, shampoo and fluffy towels. The room had two chairs and a desk with plenty of local information magazines; tea and coffee, milks and a kettle. Free wi fi was very handy and the breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever had. A decent selection of juices, cereals, yogurts and grapefruit to help yourself too while there was also fresh tea or coffee brought to your table along with hot toast and I enjoyed the full English breakfast, made from local high quality products; a real delight which set me well up for the rest of the day!!
Everything about this place says quality and service. Honesty bar, quiet lounge with free newspapers and magazines, free car parking at the rear of the hotel too. A gem of Cheltenham and not to be missed for that special occasion.

Room Tip: save some time to relax in the lounge and get in for breakfast early as its so good the earlier gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diest, Brabant, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This was our first time in Cheltenham, and we chose this hotel because it was close to the city centre and had a private parking. We were very much surprised by the lovely, clean room. We had a family room (1 double bed) and it was very large. Breakfast was excellent, enough choice though a few more choices in marmelade etc would be nice. Would recommand it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

My partner and I have just returned from Cheltenham after a two night stay to watch the Racing and visit the Literature festival.I am somewhat dissappointed by the mis-selling of this hotel.From the web site and on first approaching the building we were quite impressed,it was only when we were shown downstairs to our room,that was the biggest disappointment ever.We stayed in room 56,downstairs in the basement and right by the rear entrance to the car park.It was like a servants room in the itv drama "Downton Abbey",dark,damp and grubby.Their was a problem with condensation,the carpets were badly stain and the bathroom full of rust and mildew which you couldn't swing a cat in.It felt like a paupers room even though the price didn't reflect that!.From my own experience of letting out a holiday home,cleanliness is next to godliness and this room needs a thorough deep clean.
The plus points(their were some)!, is the location that was ideal for the races and Cheltenham town centre.The bed was very comfy.The honesty bar was also a nice touch and reasonably priced.Staff were pleasant and friendly.Breakfast is not bad if you get there and don't have to wait for a table, so we were lucky.
In summary I would say it is overpriced and they are justifying it by location-Never again!

Room Tip: The more you pay the better the room you get.Avoid room 56!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneLillywhite, Owner at The Cheltenham Townhouse, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
We were sorry to read this review - before it appeared on Trip Advisor we had already discovered that this room needed urgent attention. No excuse: but we have been refurbishing the whole hotel and this was the last to be tackled. I hope that readers will see from other reviews that we are rarely criticised for cleanliness. It is very important to us and we do normally score high. Please dont let this review put you off coming to stay at The Cheltenham Townhouse - We are confident you will enjoy your stay. Adam and Jayne Lillywhite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was a nice friendly hotel with nice clean rooms and friendly staff which i would highly recommend, situated in the centre of Cheltenham close to all amenities, only had a few whinges, breakfast cereals served in open bowls (what happened to hygiene????????) the double room which was required because I am 6'5" had 2 single beds bolted together (not comfortable if you have to lie sideways to get your feet under the covers) I realise this is not a problem for most people.. the room I was in was partially below ground level with a window at ground level, a few feet from the road although this was a very quite road 3.0 am on the Tuesday morning everybody was woken by screaming yobs outside the window. again i realise that this is outside the hotels control but you get the review warts and all.

Room Tip: book rooms not on basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSueSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This place is great. My two sons and I used it as a base for a few days at the Cheltenham Literature Festival. We come every year and stay at a B&B and this is the best we have stayed in. Large room with 3 beds one of which is a double (room 9). Very well appointed, flat screen TV, free internet access. The place has a comfortable lounge and an honesty bar. But the best thing of all is the full english breakfast which is great!!! Staff also very friendly, polite and helpful. I cannot recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: Room 9 is very good for three people sharing as we did - in other B&Bs we have felt squeezed int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Townhouse

Property: The Cheltenham Townhouse
Address: 12-14 Pittville Lawn, Cheltenham GL52 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing