We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break at Cheltenham Townhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheltenham Townhouse
Ranked #8 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect break at Cheltenham Townhouse”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a perfect weekend at this hotel for our first trip to Cheltenham. Lovely, clean and comfy room and kind and obliging staff. Situated near to racecourse and near town centre. Breakfast was first class and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49ScottM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    189
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
298
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived later than we expected and having missed our appointment so were both very flustered. The staff was a delight and having calmed us down a bit we found lovely, clean. Spacious rooms. I would recommend this place highly to anyone wanting clean, pleasant rooms an service with a smile!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Good hotel, free parking with lovely spacious rooms. Can walk to town in less than 10 minutes. Breakfast very good plenty of choice. Rooms clean but if anything might need a little updating at some stage. Would define tilt recommend staying here though good value for money

Room Tip: Rooms four or five for marvellous space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieC545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Townhouse is one of the best b&b's that I've ever stayed at!! Great location with ample parking and a very warm welcome.
We'd booked a standard twin room with a complimentary breakfast. The room was absolutely huge, exquisitely decorated, large bathroom and all immaculately clean.
The breakfast was beautifully presented and there was a large variety, including vegetarian options.
When checking out, we were very kindly allowed to leave the car there whilst we shopped til we dropped!!!
A fantastic b&b with lovely, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiefyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked to stay on New Year's Day after a day at the races. Arrived to park the car beforehand and although it was too early to get into the room we were made welcome to park the car in the car park behind the building, a cab was called for us (initial plans were to walk to the racecourse but the weather was awful so £7 in a cab was a good move) and the lady who had greeted us brought us a lovely cafetiere of coffee in the lounge while we waited for our taxi.
This good start was followed up well when we made it back at tea time. Shown to a lovely room (10) with a comfy bed, nice bathroom/ toiletries and a proper hair dryer. Big bookcase downstairs with books and DVDs if needed, and there was an honesty bar in the lounge which we didn't use but seemed very reasonably priced and well stocked.
Next morning and our now high hopes for breakfast were not disappointed - there were plenty of very friendly staff attending to everyone very efficiently, and the food was freshly cooked (in some establishments this would mean be prepared for a long wait, but here the staff seemed very well prepared for the number of guests) and of very high quality. Jazz music coming quietly from a speaker on the mantle piece added to the gentle morning atmosphere.
A walk through the adjacent Pittville park before setting off for home rounded off a brief but thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Beautifully decorated and maintained (proper opening sash windows in our bedroom), this place is better than many hotels I have stayed in and we shall definitely be back.......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeyblott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here to attend the New Year's Day races. The property is in an excellent, quiet location only a short leisurely 5min stroll to the main shopping area (high street). The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. When we return we won't bother looking to stay anywhere else and will book again here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obiyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Booked this hotel for my husband's birthday as it had good reviews and looked lovely. Let the hotel management know this. However, on arrival we were barely greeted and nothing special had been organised. We were shown to our room, what was supposed to be a superior double in the top floor of the hotel. The room was sub-standard as the shower in the was in the side of the room in open view and not in the bathroom. The room was next to the life and carpet needed to be replaced. There was then an enormous walk in cupboard, that could have been a great bathroom hidden away. Decor ok, nothing special. I asked if we could change rooms, as this is not what I had in mind. This was met with a shoulder shrug and not a care as to why I had asked this. We were not given a map or any information about Cheltenham. The next day, breakfast was awful, very poor choice, no thought or care taken and poor quality foods. Now, I am a fan of Aldi for shopping at home, however when I pay for a hotel and go there to be treated, I do not expect to find Aldi yogurts at the breakfast table. There is absolutely no attention to detail. Breakfast as so bad, I opted to find our own the next day. I really felt like I was treated like a pain as oppose to a guest. I wouldn't stay here unless I had to, for some key reason. Very disappointing experience all round.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 12 looked lovely, but it seemed the second floor could get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OxfordTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
206 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Townhouse

Property: The Cheltenham Townhouse
Address: 12-14 Pittville Lawn, Cheltenham GL52 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing