We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cheltenham Townhouse
Ranked #8 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in Cheltenham townhouse hotel, easy to find in a lovely tree lined avenue. Parking outside with parking permit provided free of charge. Lovely entrance, very good greeting from receptionist, showed us around lounge area and up to our room on the first floor overlooking back car park and other building, nice and light and airy, good size, flat tv with DVD. Wifi in the room. Sash windows that open, which was a bonus, we like to open them. Had a good nights sleep on a firm double bed with good quality bedding, very good. Breakfast was very good lovely waitress who knew how to keep everyone happy, excellent food. Only a short walk to the centre of Cheltenham High street, shopping and tourist needs met at every level.

Room Tip: Only saw our room but the interior was very good around lounge and hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    186
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
287
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for 1 night as attending a wedding evening reception at Pittville Pump room nearby. On arrival we were shown round and then taken to our room. Room was clean and large and met our expectations. We had a good nights sleep, the hotel remained quiet throughout the night. Breakfast was excellent, fresh and served hot. Will definitely stay here again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I don't normally comment for a second time on a hotel/restaurant on Trip Advisor, especially when the first review is excellent, and the second follows in the same vein. However, this hotel deserves the acclaim as on both occasions (the first as a couple, this one in a party of 12) everything about this hotel is of the highest standard.
Nathaniel and Ben are great hosts, the rooms (if you take a deluxe) are spacious, well equipped, with comfortable beds and in a quiet location, in easy walking distance of the town.
The breakfast is superb and service of a high standard.
We rarely visit Cheltenham, BUT the next time we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a nice quiet location, within easy walking distance of the centre of town.
The room we were in was delightful if a little small, the ensuite was very small but was clean, the over bath shower proved quite difficult to regulate. Beds and bedding of a very good standard, clean and comfortable.
I now come to the upsetting part of our stay. We were in Cheltenham to celebrate my daughters hen party. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that they hadn't got the 8 twin rooms we had booked, because they had two groups booked in. Also one of the rooms hadn't even been cleaned so wasn't ready. There was no apology even though we had an email confirming the rooms we had booked.
The lady at reception, I believe may have been the owner, but I can't be sure, was not in the slightest bit welcoming, in fact she made us feel like we were a bit of an inconvenience. She then went on to tell us they didn't normally take hen parties, and that we couldn't expect to return later to party on back at the hotel! To be honest none of us had any plans to party into the wee small hours and felt that as we were paying guests, we deserved at least a courteous welcome.
Later we worked out the the other group booked in was also a hen party, for a hotel that doesn't take same sex groups this seemed very odd. I would also like to point out that when we booked, the hotel was told it was a hen party.
I would also like to say the dining room staff were lovely as was the gentleman on duty as night porter and on reception this morning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Visited the Cheltenham Town House with friends for our 6th visit which speaks volumes. They are very welcoming and the location makes it ideal for a trip to Cheltenham. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the breakfast is fab! Shall be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We regularly use TCT for stopover in Cheltenham (family close by). They are always welcoming, rooms are clean & airy, beds very comfortable, family friendly (we have 2 boys & always use the family room) & the breakfast is perfect end to our stay. Our 4th stay there & we look forward to the next one :o)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Connoisseur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel is in a quiet cul de sac, ten minutes walk to the town centre. Friendly welcome and helpful staff. Good breakfast. All in all very pleasant. This Hotel will certainly be our first choice as and when we visit Cheltenham again. The room was of a higher standard than several much more expensive hotels that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and the room was excellent - large, with huge bed, settee and easy chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robchatterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Townhouse

Property: The Cheltenham Townhouse
Address: 12-14 Pittville Lawn, Cheltenham GL52 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheltenham Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing