We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cheltenham Townhouse
Ranked #8 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very useful place to stop especially for a racing trip as just down the road from course and not far from town for shops or restaurants etc
Simple and straight forward room - not ideal but manageable bathroom across corridor.
Breakfast was excellent though very busy as smallish area to be seated at if hotel full.
Definitely will look to return for an overnighter :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    181
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
281
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Oxford, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent a night here recently as part of a group. A pleasant looking hotel in a quiet road some 15 minutes walk from the centre of town. A small private car park at rear. The hotel runs an honesty bar in a comfy lounge. There is a small terrace for sitting outside. Breakfast was a selection of cereals and fruit juice, then a choice of cooked eggs etc.
I had requested a single room which was ready when I arrived even though it was before the 2pm check in time. I had Room 34 which was in the basement. It is huge! There is a small kitchen, table with 4 chairs, a big double bed and an armchair. The room was well appointed with a trunk and various pictures and furnishings. A shower rather than a bath which is my preference. Lots of hot water. All the expected trimmings like a generous amount of teas, coffee etc. magazines, toiletries.
The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Minor niggles - the Television was high on the wall and quite small. A stretch on the eyesight from the bed and armchair. (Downside of a big room). The other point is that as the room is on the lower floor looking out up onto the road I did not feel comfortable about leaving the windows open. This made it a bit stuffy.
I really enjoyed my stay here and would certainly use it again.
Just one last thing. Three of our group were accommodated in an Annex about 10 minutes walk away from the main hotel. If you do not fancy this, remember to check which room you have been allocated.
.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilerviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A warm reception when we arrived and an amazing room for the price. Bed was comfy and the room spotless. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and all the staff were friendly and really helpful. If I was to have any suggestions it would be displaying DVDs for the guests to use in their room (all the TVs have built in DVD Player) is a great idea...but hardly any of them actually have DVDs in the cases...saying that though if you're away for the weekend you shouldn't be watching TV anyway.

I would stay here again in a heart beat! Cheers Townhouse and your staff are a credit to you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiffdean75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have just come back from a weekend in Cheltenham, we stayed at the Cheltenham Townhouse which was recommended to me by a friend. I had organised a reunion for 30 ladies and we all stayed there. I can't praise them enough for their help with the organisation and their patience with my endless e-mails. When we arrived all the rooms were ready, and beautifully presented. All the ladies were delighted with the welcome we received. It is the most comfortable property with a very friendly feel, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. I will definitely be returning to the Townhouse, if they will have me, and I know that a number of the others in my group will be doing the same, So thank you again for looking after us all so well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this through a bookings website so had no real idea if what to expect. We stayed in the studio apartments which are a 5 min walk from the hotel itself. The rooms are very spacious, with a kitchenette area with hob and microwave and fridge. The beds was very comfortable and a linked divan super king. Linen was clean and fresh and general décor calm and peaceful. a well appointed bathroom with a shower. There is a hair dryer and full size ironing board. Two handles were broken off the furniture which did not affect the stay and just need replacing. There is tea, filter coffee and sugar provided and a 2 slice toaster. There appear to be 4 apartments per floor and for larger parties can be connected by linked doors. Breakfast is taken in the main hotel and served until 10 on a Sunday. The staff were very attentive and the coffee excellent with perfect hot toast brought to your table with out having to ask. The full english can be recommended and was served quickly and on warm plates.Simply put the hotel/apartments represent real value for money and location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puffin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for one night in the apartment in the hotel. The apartment was spotlessly clean. We felt it was the best of both worlds, the convenience and privacy of self catering, with breakfast provided in the grandeur of the beautiful hotel breakfast room.

We had the salmon and scrambled eggs- fantastic.

The staff were all very friendly and it was good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Spent two nights here for our anniversary and my birthday. Staff our very welcoming, however would suggest housekeeping knock before entering a room! We were ok with been interrupted while in room but others may not be. Bed for me was very comfortable however husband has a bad back so after two nights was suffering and was glad of getting home to a firm bed. Welcome bar is nice touch. Little things need attention but nothing major. Walls are quite thin and next door having nightmare on first night certainly woke me up and hubby on second night said there was a lot of corridor noise and door banging. But all in all ok. Cheltenham itself seems to be a struggling town with lots of shutdown shops. If it can pull itself up would stay again but will be a while before we return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamworthTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
No 131
No 131
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Townhouse

Property: The Cheltenham Townhouse
Address: 12-14 Pittville Lawn, Cheltenham GL52 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cheltenham Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing