We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely building, efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cheltenham Townhouse
Ranked #8 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely building, efficient staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautiful hotel an easy walk to the city centre shops and amenities. Couple of nice pubs , cafes and restaurants within minutes of the front door if you didn't want to go into town. Sympathetically coverted to a hotel, the building is truly lovely. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Breakfasts nicely presented and delicious, sitting room / bar facilities great. Only tiny downside is parking is limited on site and challenging on the street (time limits apply).Had a wonderful weekend here. Definately be back and would recommend to anyone. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    189
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
298
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have been going to Cheltenham for years with friends for shopping trips. We recently stayed in the Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel. I honestly can't believe I have missed this place and not stayed before. What was I thinking?
The hotel was five minutes walk form all the shops, restaurants and the huge variety of wine bars that Cheltenham has to offer. Yet it is in a very quiet street, typical of the Cheltenham regency architecture
I was really impressed with the greeting that the lovely lady who owns the hotel gave us. She was very warm and friendly. She showed us to our rooms which were beautifully decorated, with calming colours and elegant touches of individuality in each room. It was all very tasteful and well equipped. Each room had an en-suite and was equipped with a TV, DVD, Tea and coffee facilities. The bed was really comfortable and the room was very quiet. We later met in the sitting room where they operate an honesty bar.
Breakfast was beautifully cooked and offered a large variety of options, using fresh local produce.
Will I go again? Absolutely yes!! I honestly could not fault the hotel and felt it represented good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8-Debbie-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night. Location is very good, walking distance to the city centre with on street parking outside the hotel. The hotel is very nicely decorated, and the room amenities were good. Breakfast was excellent. Only downside was that our bed was not the most comfortable, but I think that we because we had two singles put together rather than a proper king size. We told reception about this and they said they'd look into it. Other than that we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont de marsan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent service at this well appointed small hotel. Although close to the town centre it is situated in a quiet cul de sac. Breakfast was perfect and the staff were helpful. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deemar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, Warks
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on romantic break last weekend. Reception staff were great, building is made up of double rooms and apartments. We had 34 which was a largish apartment with kitchen section and an INCREDIBLY comfy bed !!!! Apartment is nicely decorated and you are a five min walk to town. Excellent location and value at 100 pound a Saturday night. Would have scored five but breakfast was to slow due to not having enough space and then we were put on a table with others . Also bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but that's picking . Overall very good and will come back for sure

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AALowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel close to centre of Cheltenham. Excellent room, we'll decorated and clean. Superb breakfast, staff very friendly and helpful. Good parking arrangements. Would recommend strongly and would certainly consider a revisit if in the area.

Room Tip: Superior room at front of hotel highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Must say that we had a wonderful stay here...often in this part of the country and would definitely stay again. We also had sunshine! Fantastic! Would recommend highly as we particularly like how calm it was .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkysassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Townhouse

Property: The Cheltenham Townhouse
Address: 12-14 Pittville Lawn, Cheltenham GL52 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing