We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and one of the best nights sleep in a long time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cheltenham Townhouse
Ranked #8 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and one of the best nights sleep in a long time!”
Reviewed 12 December 2008

I stayed here earlier this month with my friend.

Another one of my friends and her husband had also booked a room but had checked in the night before, they were shown to a room upstairs which ended up being tiny and no heating so was freezing! they were moved down stairs to a much better room! but this had put me off slightly.

But when i was shown to our room which was on the lower ground it was lovely, very warm and homely and both me and my friend both said they were the most comfitable beds we have ever stayed in!!!!

The breakfast was very good and filling.

Overall a very enjoyable stay, one of the best nights sleep i have had in a long while, they are very flexible with check outs which was good as my friend had a bus booked for 1.30pm so we were allowed to check out at 12.30pm.
make sure you either get a permit from check in desk for parking outside or park in the car park behind the hotel else you will get a ticket!!!

Would definatley like to stay there next time I am back in Cheltenham!

  • Liked — Very Comfitable and laid back attitude
  • Disliked — breakfast times could be longer
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPAY789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    188
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
293
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

After following advice on T Advisor, we booked a room on the 27th September. Staff were friendly (But not to the point of being over enthusiastic) and the room was great. The decor was bright and cheerful, and the bed was super big and a little too comfortable. An added bonus was the TV/DVD, with a library of semi-recent films available in the hotel. (Possibly the owners own, less watched collection!) Also of great benifit is the hotels proximity to the town centre. Its an easy 15 minute walk to the high street and the new multiplex at the site of the old Brewery, so keeping entertained is easy. All in all the place was a great find, and we will more likely than not be back!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deathbunny_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed here for the weekend and had rather a dissapointing stay.
Public areas - lovely, very well kept, a honesty bar is in the lounge and breakfast is very good.
Our room - awful! Paint was peeling off the walls, there was alot of damp and mould round the shower and window, the shower didnt drain so you had to have a very quick shower before I flowed into the bathroom, the flush to the toilet kept coming off and a spot light was hanging down. The quality of furnishings was pretty cheap - ikeaish and looked worn. There was no bathroom door either - good job my boyfriend and I are comfortable with each other and it wasnt our first weekend away!
There was also another couple complaining at reception who had exactly the same problems. The owner lady apologised and reduced our room rate but this is something that could have been spotted well before our stay. Certainly wasnt a romantic weekend away!

  • Liked — Breakfast and honest bar
  • Disliked — Room and bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lynda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We stayed here for one night in July 2008.
The location and facade of the building was super.
All too often, what you see on the inside does not live up to the outside - not in this case!
The hotel was immaculately decorated, had decent sized rooms, very clean bathroom and even a lovely terrace for the smokers to relax in.
The piece de resistance was the breakfast. It was excellent quality and generous.
Thank you for having us (family of four all comfortably placed in one room).
We will return, next time without the children.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debro1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

I would advise any guest thinking of making a reservation to ensure they get the cancellation policy in writing.

My wife and I were due to stay here in December 2007 but due to illness, we were unable to attend. We were told at time of booking that there was a 24 hour cancellation policy. We cancelled our room on a Thursday for Saturday night reservation.

However, the hotel still charged my credit card £90. They then disputed the cancellation policy despite it being listed on the legal section of their website. A letter from the hotel owner (Adam Lillywhite) to my credit card company states they have 48 hour cancellation policy! Totally contradicting their website.

Luckily, my credit card company refunded the amount after I complained, however the hotel however were not prepared to do anything which left the onus on me to take them to court over the dispute.

Be very wary of who you give you credit card details to!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTG_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

This hotel was very homely, the communal living room was like sitting in your own living room at home! Staff were friendly and the breakfast was fab! The hotel has lots of character, with some interestingly placed showers, but this all added to the charm. Good weekend stay hotel!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyLady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

As soon as i entered The Cheltenham Townhouse hotel i was struck by how friendly it felt.

It is an elegant, light and airy hotel, with a neutral, classic decor.

Our room was very spacious with a king size bed, ample wardrobe/drawer space, two large mirrors, armchair and an integrated flat screen TV/DVD player.

The bathroom was impeccably clean and was well stocked with fluffy white towels and a nice selection of toiletries.

Breakfast was served in a lovely, bright room with soft comtempory music playing in the background. Guests help themselves to cereal, fruit juice, yoghurts and fruit and then various cooked breakfasts are offered including full english and smoked salmon scrambled eggs.
My scrambled eggs were perfectly cooked and totally delicious. The staff in the breakfast room were very polite and friendly.

I really liked the 'home comforts' this hotel offered - baskets of fresh fruit, a library stocked with books and DVD's and the self service 'bar' in the living room.

I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — The spacious, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Struggling to think of anything!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Townhouse

Property: The Cheltenham Townhouse
Address: 12-14 Pittville Lawn, Cheltenham GL52 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheltenham Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Townhouse Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing