We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum
Ranked #8 of 63 things to do in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Four new floors house extensive galleries for temporary exhibitions - for international / national touring shows, special highlights from our collections and fun shows for families - space to discover local heroes and archive collections, including the great Edward Wilson (one of Scott's key men on his 1912 expedition to Antarctica), and a new gallery space in which the internationally renowned Arts & Crafts collection will be shown.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Set in a modern building with easy access, this is an odd mixture of modern art, photography and furniture.

1  Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you felt there was easy access to the building, this was a deliberate goal of the rebuilding process. Thanks also for the feedback on the touring exhibitions and permanent collections. The Furniture Store is one of our key collections and represents a large body of work from the Arts and Crafts Movement. Our collection is eclectic and diverse - and hopes to attract and interest a wide audience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This place is stuffed full of interesting things to see. I particularly enjoyed the Arts & Crafts exhibition and the portrait gallery, though there was so much to see of all kinds that you could spend hours exploring. There is even the Tourist Information desk on the ground floor plus a small café. It was perfect for a wet afternoon, especially as there is a locked cloakroom where you can leave your coats while you explore.

Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re really happy to hear that you felt you could explore for hours. We’re also pleased that you made use of so many of the services we have on offer – from locking your coat away to enjoying the food in the café.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

An excellent museum, worthy smaller version of te V&A! A vip collection of Arts & Crafts! Very interesting furniture and other objects displays, as well as the very interesting history of Cheltenham. Very nice café too!

Thank Annie-Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Many thanks for your review – we love being compared the V&A!! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed so many different aspects of what we have to offer here in our permanent collections. It’s also worth remembering that our new building can now accommodate touring exhibitions, so please keep checking back to keep up to date with our calendar of exhibitions and displays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The building is amazing for a town museum, it's won awards since reopening last year. Well layer out, open and spacious with a very good little cafe. It like to the older building too.

Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review – we’re delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the new building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had been looking forward for the place to reopen for a long time. I finally got the chance to go. Me and my girlfriend decided to go and see how it was. This refurb/restoration was money well spent. My girlfriend found it really easy to get her walker round no problem. Only one or 2 corridors she couldn't get down but at least there was a way around it. Only downside was the top floor wasn't open due to an exhibit being prepared but that didn't matter because we simply went another time. Very enjoyable time.

Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review, so pleased you finally got the time to come and see us and to hear you thought it was “worth the wait”. We love the new spaces as we can do so much with them in terms of changing exhibitions and event spaces.
Keep up to date with our current and up and coming exhibition on our website to avoid the disappointment of exhibition change overs, however there is so much to see within our permanent collections and galleries to satisfy any visit.
Happy to hear you came back to see the new exhibition and enjoyed your second visit just as much.
Your feed back on the accessibility of the Galleries has been good to hear as we are continually striving to make it an enjoyable and easy visit for all, our visitor service team are always around and love to answer questions on the collections or assist if needed.
Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing