We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your search is over !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Your search is over !”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent 2 nights here in July '13 and we have to say that in all our experiences of staying away from home we cannot make any comparisons with the Battledown ! The service, attention to every little detail and Simon and Sarah's own personalities made us very comfortable and feel at home straight away. The property is immaculate inside and out and you will not (and we mean not) get a better breakfast anywhere. We will certainly be returning and would advise anyone to experience true perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
344
44
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We used to stay here a few years ago and it was always of a high standard but almost two years ago it changed ownership and is even better. We got a very friendly welcome from Sarah who couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with an excellent en suite with shower and the breakfast could not be better with excellent quality food and a good choice. We would not hesistate to recommend Battledown as it is first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at The Battledown en route to Somerset, on 16 July 2013. We received a great welcome from Simon, and a lovely pot of tea and iced water after a very hot journey! Both our rooms (one twin, one double) were beautifully appointed, comfortable and stylish. We were given good advice about car parks in Cheltenham and had a comfortable overnight stay. Sarah served us a lovely breakfast and we were on our way. I will be recommending this B&B to all my friends - it's one of the best I have stayed in. Ideal location for Cheltenham and the Cotswolds, and also near Cheltenham Lido - my early morning swim was memorable! Our only regret was that we'd only booked one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliSheph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent the weekend at Battledown and it was excellent. The accommodation was first class and the food was very good Simon and Sarah the owners are great and really made me feel at home. Well worth a visit Best in Cheltenham

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_ashbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spend three weeks in UK in June. There was many B&B on our way. But this one was definitely the best one. Sara and Simon are working hard to keep the highest standards. Spotless inside and outside. And I mean it! (honestly: everything looks better in real life than on the pictures!). The way Sara is serving a breakfast: preparation, very elegant table – one can be sure she is taking care to make people feels(take out "s") good. Choice and taste is impressive! Everything is so perfect! Every small detail… How is she doing it?
We had a beautifully decorated room (great test Sarah)! Simon was fantastic and efficient to recover my tablet charger which I forgot in another town. He took a(remove) time to make few long distance phone calls (free of charge) to arrange delivery to Heathrow Hotel. We couldn’t choose a better option to explore unforgettable Cotswold. Thank you guys and congratulation: you are doing fantastic job. We wish you all the best. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This B&B was great for a weekend away exploring the Cotswolds. Sarah and Simon were so welcoming and gave us several recommendations on places to visit and eat at - all the recommendations were fantastic. After exploring the pretty Cotswolds villages during the days, we loved the fact that we could walk into Cheltenham from The Battledown to find a bar and restaurant in the evenings. Our room was tastefully decorated with a very comfy bed and fantastic shower, couldn't have asked for more! The breakfast was delicious, especially the home-made banana loaf. All in all a perfect get-away and we would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for three sunny days in early June, using The Battledown as a base for house hunting in Cheltenham and exploring the Cotswolds. Sarah and Simon were wonderful hosts who made us feel really at home and gave us lots of tips for what to do in Cheltenham. The room was very comfortable, with a small ensuite bathroom, a comfy bed and tv/dvd player. Breakfast was excellent, a nice choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, home made jam etc... All in all a really great stay and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Room on 1st floor at the back was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
475 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
538 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battledown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battledown Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 125 Hales Road, Cheltenham GL52 6ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battledown Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon, Sarah and their daughter Isabella welcome you to their home, The Battledown, a Grade II listed French colonial style villa built in 1855. We are conveniently located for all of Cheltenham's events, the Cotswolds and the town centre which is approximately 1 mile away. All of our bedrooms have comfortable beds with 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and en suite shower rooms stocked with fluffy towels. All bedrooms have a flatscreen TV, DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities (with fresh milk available) and a hairdryer. We provide free WIFI throughout our home and free parking is available in our private car park. Our home has a beautiful walled garden with patios which guests are welcome to use. The Battledown has been accredited 4 stars by the AA, has won their prestigious breakfast award and is the WINNER of the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Battledown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing