We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Tub”
Review of Butlers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Butlers
Ranked #9 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the Tub”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

After days of walking in London, how nice to get to Butlers and soak in the tub. It was the perfect cure for sore legs and feet. And Sarah did a great job filling in for the owners, who were on holiday. We had fun watching the tele in the evening, particularly coverage of the Chelsea flower show - how English!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for the excellent review - we will pass on your comments to Sarah and Neil who were holding the fort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
138
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Charming hosts, great breakfasts, good proximity to the town, great attention to detail, quality furnishings....and all for a very reasonable price. These chaps have got it "just right" - we wish them every success. Next time we are in the area, we will be staying there for sure. Readers: treat yourselves to little bit of luxury, we're glad we did !

Room Tip: Jeeves room, if you want a single plus double bed in the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrGotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Butlers was the perfect choice when looking to escape the hustle and bustle in London. The b&b run by the lovely Guy and Robert, could not be more accommodating and welcoming. Butlers stand for attention to detail from the charming decor, the rooms which are fully equipped with everything you could possibly need to the breakfast fit for a king. A true bonus was the extremely comfortable bed for the best night sleep I've had in ages and the breakfast which was a true treat with an extensive cold buffet as well as a mouthwatering hot menu. Having stayed in many hotels and b&b's rarely have a i felt sad to leave a place, but this charming gem really does sparkle!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citytrotter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A fantastic place to rest world-weary bones - quiet, comfortable and friendly. The room was generously sized, light and airy. The breakfast was fantastic and worth getting up for. From the Full English to the stroopwafel you could not want for more. Robert and Guy are a serious authority on all things worth spending your time on in the Cotswold's, they were always happy to lend advice.
A true gem in Cheltenham. I will inexhaustibly recommend Butlers to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Manager at Butlers, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you very much of the great review... We are delighted to enjoyed your stay and exploring the Cotswolds so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is a lovely B&B set in a very tranquil and quiet part of Cheltenham. It is only about a 15 minute stroll from the Montpellier area, which is the most interesting part of the town. When we arrived we were greeted by Guy who was very friendly, good fun and very welcoming. The room (we had Jeeves as they all follow a theme of famous butlers) was spotlessly clean, a good size with a very nice, comfortable bed. We both had a very good nights sleep as it was so peaceful and quiet outside. Breakfast was very good with a host of cereals, waffles, yogurt and of course the great British tradition the cooked breakfast. This was very good with top quality bacon.
The thing that makes this B&B stand out from others is the quirkiness of the items that decorate it, from all sorts of hats, gloves, clocks and lovely little touches like the pocket watch that was attached to the room key. If we ever have to stay in Cheltenham again we will definitely stay here. Please don't change it in any way; it's perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Faultless. I stayed for two nights & now know where I will be staying next time I'm in Cheltenham. Wonderful hosts who really make you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Beautiful clean room with great facilities. Excellent breakfast with great service & wide choice. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfandmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed at Butlers for a couple of nights while we were at the Design Festival just around the corner, we chose the B&B for its location and previous reviews. It was a good choice, the cleanliness is brilliant and attention to detail is very high. Robert and Guy are great hosts, very friendly and helpful in terms of directions and areas of Cheltenham to have a walk around. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and a great view over the garden. Would definitely stay again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fion2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 22 in Cheltenham
535 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#5 of 70 in Cheltenham
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlers

Property: Butlers
Address: Western Road, Cheltenham GL50 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlers 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Butlers. We are situated in a central yet quiet area and only a short stroll to the Promenade and the Quaint Montpellier district. The individually decorated rooms are named after well known butlers from literature and history. We offer a friendly and discreet service and the facilities include guest lounge, garden and parking. We look forward to welcoming you in due course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Butlers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing