We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Butlers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butlers
Ranked #11 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a weekend here at butlers.
The rooms were large and there is no getting away from the fact they like hats!!
Dry funny and helpful hosts good breakfasts
Thank you both shall recommend

Room Tip: Our Jeeves room on first floor was expensive but all looked ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at Butlers for two nights on a work trip, were impressed by the decor and the breakfast, but unfortunately surprised by the terrible hospitality. I am not quite sure what went wrong, but from the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though everything was a bit inconvenient for them. At first I thought I was missing the humour. By the end of the stay we were uncomfortable to have any interaction with reception and for that reason we will definitely not choose to come back. Very poor customer service. A real shame as the place is nice otherwise. Maybe they don't need any more business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elidaloia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are deeply hurt and upset by this anonymous review and have no record of the stay.
Please check you have the right location.
We have advised TA accordingly.

Completely baffled also as we have invested our heart and soul into presenting our beautiful home for guests to enjoy.
We are intuitive to the needs of all guests. If indeed this stay occurred and we got it so horribly wrong then of course we apologise.

The team go out of our way to provide excellent service and we work our socks off to get it right. If there are any problems we respectfully ask guests to advise us first - that surely is only fair.

If you would be so kind as to contact us directly we would welcome the pportunity to find out if and when you stayed.
We will then have the opportunity to discuss your concerns (however late) and maybe understand your reasons for wishing to harm our good name.

Yours sincerely
Guy Hunter and Robert Davies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We found the Butlers literally by chance & what a lucky find!
We booked in for a long stay in one of the studio rooms & was pleasantly surprised. Our stay proved to be welcoming, very comfortable & convenient. Being in Cheltenham on business, we looked forward to returning to what felt like home from home.
The hotel is meticulously themed & spotlessly clean. Our room was delightful with a very comfortable bed & convenient kitchenette.
Would definitely book again next year & will highly recommend to others!
Thanks Guy & Robert.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroad2nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Its great little hotel, slightly out of the city centre, the rooms large and comfortable, the hosts excellent, and the breakfast was lovely. The attention to detail is superb with a consistant theme running throughout.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had two nights in this most clean, spacious, quirky, friendly hotel, what a fantastic find. What two mindful hosts were Robert and Guy. There hospitality were next to none, old fashioned values came first, which we received first hand.
The breakfast was excellent, with a vast amount of choice. The cold buffet was well stocked with nothing left to want. The cooked breakfast was of many choices and came out freshly cooked and hot.
With such a short distance into Cheltenham the location was perfect.
Unfortunately we had to leave, but we will return.
Jim & Chrissy Stafford. Leicester

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at Butlers Hotel. The hotel is beautifully presented, the charming Hosts are very welcoming and attentive to detail. The room we stayed in was Coleman, tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed, good size ensuite and a lovely view of the garden. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order each morning with a good choice available, the serving staff were very efficient and friendly. We came away feeling wonderfully relaxed, the atmosphere at the hotel was calm and homely, having a key to the front door allowed us to come and go as we pleased. We fully intend to return to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is my eleventh year at the Cheltenham Festival of Literature and I would not consider staying anywhere other than Butlers Hotel.

If I say that it improves with age, then it does, because nothing changes and the same high standards which I discovered eleven years ago are still in place.

So if you want a satisfying breakfast to set you up for the day and a plumptious pillow to rest your head on at night, then look no further than this excellent hotel called Butlers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,024 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlers

Address: Western Road, Cheltenham GL50 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £86 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlers 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Butlers. We are situated in a central yet quiet area and only a short stroll to the Promenade and the Quaint Montpellier district. The individually decorated rooms are named after well known butlers from literature and history. We offer a friendly and discreet service and the facilities include guest lounge, garden and parking. We look forward to welcoming you in due course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Butlers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing