We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Butlers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Butlers
Ranked #11 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We spent five nights at Butlers and it was wonderful!!

The hotel is differently decorated, amazing hats, suitcases, gloves and wonderful old telephones set the scene for a stay of which Jeeves would approve! It's in a quiet road a short walk from the shops and restaurants in Montpelier and the Suffolks, and the town centre.

Breakfast is a delight, great selection and quality ingredients that are well cooked and beautifully presented. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs are a particular favorite.

It's difficult to know what to say, because we couldn't fault anything. Really comfortable beds, nice bedlinen, great, great, great everything, in fact the only problem was that we had to leave, we both said we'd have liked to stay longer and will definitely be back!

Did we mention well informed and helpful hosts? Butlers is the place to stay in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLBBIB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great setting close to Cheltenham town and local Montpelier district, hosts were very kind and informative during my stay with my wife pointing out local points of interest and ensuring our stay was a pleasant one. Good attention to detail re theme of the Guest House, very clean and tidy, all the amenities required present in our room. Will defiently be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sands071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed in Cheltenham many times in many different types of accommodation over many years. Staying at Butler's was our first time, but we will want to return there whenever we visit Cheltenham. The hotel is beautifully furnished and maintained. Our room was the lovely garden room Faircihild, which is stylish and has all that is needed for a comfortable stay, especially the great bed. Breakfast offers all the choices, and more, that anyone could ask for.
Guy and Robert are ideal hosts, so welcoming, helpful too, nothing is too much trouble for them.
Thanks to both of them for a truly happy stay.

Room Tip: We asked for an accessible room and were well satisfied. The garden room must be lovely to sit outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This B & B is really special with elegant decorations, great breakfasts and welcoming hosts. The georgian-style building has been sympathetically converted and provides 7 well-appointed rooms, each named after a famous butler. We were served tea and biscuits in the beautiful lounge on arrival. The light and airy dining room overlooks the garden. The quirky hat collection and interesting pictures all add to its appeal. Our room was on the first floor at the back and was quiet and comfortable. The huge bed gave us a very good night's sleep and a lovely breakfast welcomed us on both mornings. Apart from juices, yogurt, cereals etc., cooked choices are served to order from a varied menu using local ingredients. We particularly liked the scotch pancakes with bacon and maple syrup and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The house is set in a quiet road ten minutes from the station and all main attractions. We will be back next time we come to Cheltenham! Thank you Guy and Robert.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Wow!
thank you for another great review.
Delighted to read your comments so thank you very much for taking the time to do that.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Butlers
Guy and Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is full of character, with great attention to detail. I arrived to a friendly welcome and tea served in the beautiful drawing room. My single room was clean and warm with comfortable furnishings and an immaculate shower room.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and there was a selection of fruits, yoghurts and cakes in addition to the traditional hot food.

I would be very happy to come back to Butlers. The owners have invested much time and effort in creating a fun, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello
Thank you for the fantastic review.
We love to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay so thank you very much for taking the time to publish your review.
Our best regards
Guy Hunter
Robert Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I visited Cheltenham last week for the Jazz Festival - we were looking for a central, quaint, well appointed B&B with good reviews ... especially for good breakfasts.
Well we certainly found what we wanted at Butlers. Charming place run by 2 great hosts - Guy and Robert. Lovely room, beautiful decoration in the appropriate Regency style ... with their own touch.

Thanks for a splendid stay. We'll be back

Room Tip: Call Butlers directly for the best rate and the room which you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
Delighted you had such a great time away and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Our best regards
Guy and Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Wonderful B@B, made to feel very welcome on arrival, Robert and Guy are running a great guesthouse and could not be more helpful in anything that we needed.
Great knowledge of the town and very helpful in helping us to decide where to visit in the surrounding area.
We would certainly return to this wonderful B@B

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank abbyWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

it makes it seem all worthwhile when lovely guests leave lovely reviews ;)))
Thank you very much
Guy and Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,024 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlers

Address: Western Road, Cheltenham GL50 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £86 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlers 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Butlers. We are situated in a central yet quiet area and only a short stroll to the Promenade and the Quaint Montpellier district. The individually decorated rooms are named after well known butlers from literature and history. We offer a friendly and discreet service and the facilities include guest lounge, garden and parking. We look forward to welcoming you in due course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Butlers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing