We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Butlers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butlers
Ranked #11 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location, beautifully decorated rooms and above all, very friendly staff! The hotel is located near bus station or city center (only 10 minutes on foot), and not so far from the rail station. I stayed here for 2 nights, a pleasant experience. Neighborhood of this hotel seems to be a high-level residential area, so surroundings are very quiet. There is a convenient bus service from Cheltenham to some of Cotswolds villages (Bourton on the water, etc). I definitely recommend this hotel to all travelers. And, special thanks to Robert!

Room Tip: No tip. Everything seems to be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schneewittchen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlersCheltenham, Owner at Butlers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Hello
Thank you for making your way to Butlers and the great review. It is alwasy good to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Butleres again - bring some good weather please!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for one night at short notice on June 10 because the accommodation we had booked was a disgrace. However, what good luck for us because we were lucky enough to stumble across Guy and Robert's charming Butlers. We can't rate this establishment high enough - nothing was too much trouble. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits after being shown to a very elegant room. Guy and Robert are very knowledgable about all sorts of things, from restaurants and bars, to romantic Cotswolds drives, shopping and places of interest to visit. Breakfast was delicious. The only down side was that we were only there for one night. We will definitely stay again and next time for longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful. We stayed in Coleman which had a lovely view of the immaculate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you're looking for a hotel which has a touch of class, wonderful rooms and good food then Butlers is for you. The owners Robert and Guy are great and make you feel welcome and at ease the moment you walk through the door. I've been coming here every year for four years and have stayed in a number of different rooms; all of which are spacious, extremely clean and have wonderful decor around the theme of old fashioned butlers/gentlemen. The breakfast is delicious, freshly made and with a great range of choice. A perfect experience and hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely decor, warm welcome, clean, friendly and excellent value for money. The hotel was so well done out and my room was really lovely. The owner gave me such a warm welcome and even made me a cup of tea on arrival. Breakfast was also really lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We spent five nights at Butlers and it was wonderful!!

The hotel is differently decorated, amazing hats, suitcases, gloves and wonderful old telephones set the scene for a stay of which Jeeves would approve! It's in a quiet road a short walk from the shops and restaurants in Montpelier and the Suffolks, and the town centre.

Breakfast is a delight, great selection and quality ingredients that are well cooked and beautifully presented. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs are a particular favorite.

It's difficult to know what to say, because we couldn't fault anything. Really comfortable beds, nice bedlinen, great, great, great everything, in fact the only problem was that we had to leave, we both said we'd have liked to stay longer and will definitely be back!

Did we mention well informed and helpful hosts? Butlers is the place to stay in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLBBIB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great setting close to Cheltenham town and local Montpelier district, hosts were very kind and informative during my stay with my wife pointing out local points of interest and ensuring our stay was a pleasant one. Good attention to detail re theme of the Guest House, very clean and tidy, all the amenities required present in our room. Will defiently be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sands071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed in Cheltenham many times in many different types of accommodation over many years. Staying at Butler's was our first time, but we will want to return there whenever we visit Cheltenham. The hotel is beautifully furnished and maintained. Our room was the lovely garden room Faircihild, which is stylish and has all that is needed for a comfortable stay, especially the great bed. Breakfast offers all the choices, and more, that anyone could ask for.
Guy and Robert are ideal hosts, so welcoming, helpful too, nothing is too much trouble for them.
Thanks to both of them for a truly happy stay.

Room Tip: We asked for an accessible room and were well satisfied. The garden room must be lovely to sit outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
No 131
No 131
#14 of 23 in Cheltenham
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 69 in Cheltenham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlers

Address: Western Road, Cheltenham GL50 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £82 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlers 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Butlers. We are situated in a central yet quiet area and only a short stroll to the Promenade and the Quaint Montpellier district. The individually decorated rooms are named after well known butlers from literature and history. We offer a friendly and discreet service and the facilities include guest lounge, garden and parking. We look forward to welcoming you in due course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Butlers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing