We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 1 night a couple of weeks ago with my partner. Check in quick and easy, receptionist helpful with advice about how to get to the town itself and places to visit. Room,as with all premier inns we have stayed in, spotless clean, both bedroom and bathroom. Just one little point,we had no teaspoons to stir our coffee! It was a room on the back,so as mentioned by other visitors,we had the train noise every half hour. I personally didn't find it too much of a problem. And I'm not sure being on the front of the hotel would have been much better as people have said about noise from revellers going in and out if TGI fridays next door,especially as it was a Friday night that we stayed. There is a bus stop 2min walk away to get bus into the town,which we did on the afternoon, but after freshening up,on the evening we decided to walk it back into town for drinks. Walking takes about half an hour,but pleasant if weather is fine.
Cheltenham town itself is really nice, plenty shops,pubs and restaurants. We had a nice evening in O'neals irish bar.....good atmosphere!
All in all had a nice break and would definately stay at this premier inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 November 2011

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a great one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to explore more of Cheltenham.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel as our daughter was in a large sporting championship in Cheltenham and we needed a convenient overnight base. Having read previous reviews I did request a quieter room at the front of the hotel. The room we were given was great; very large and airy and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely squashy pillows. We drove into the centre of town, about a five minute drive but its only about a 10 - 15 min walk I suppose. TGI Fridays on site was busy with its typical fare - burgers, grills etc. We paid only £29 for this room which was an amazing deal and our room was no different to many 4 star hotel rooms that we usually stay in and pay quadruple that amount! We'd definately use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for front room away from the railway line that runs at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsabigwideworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 November 2011

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a great one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. All feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A well-located site that offers good level of cleanliness and comfort for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWalker584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a good one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We are retired couple who stayed for one night to visit the Cheltenham Literary Festival. Next year would definitely stay longer for festival and without doubt stay in same hotel but would ask for room at front of hotel to avoid noise of trains at back. The location is very convenient, plenty of parking outside and it was a bonus to be able to leave our car and use the frequent bus service (approx every 10 minutes) from just outside the hotel, to the town center. The room was large (by UK hotel standards), comfortable, clean and attractive. Staff very helpful and service good. From Swansea-Jo

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockholmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 October 2011

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the Literary Festival. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and all your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

6 ladies from Wales went to the Cheltenham races and stayed over at the Premier Inn Cheltenham Central. It suited our needs perfectly. Very clean, easy to organise. It was within walking distance of the train station. The bus ride into the town centre was only £2 and the taxi ride was only £5 between us!

I would highly recommend staying there. It is close to the railway track but I didn't hear a thing. But that may have been because we had had such a good time in Cheltenham!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 October 2011

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really very pleased that your weekend with us was a good one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. It's great to hear you had a good night out in Cheltenham and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night last week. We paid only £29 for a very comfortable family room with plenty of storage space; Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was very clean with a comfy bed and good bathroom / shower.
We were a little worried after reading reviews saying the rooms are hot and noisy but we need not have worried. Our room temperature was good and the train noise minimal and infrequent; we would have needed super human hearing to be bothered by it!
We did not eat in TJ I Fridays so can't comment on the breakfast etc.
I've given the hotel 5 stars because you get a lot for very little money; we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 October 2011

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really very pleased that your stay with us was a good one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and all your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After reading the reviews I was a little nervous about this trip but I need not have worried. The room was spacious, clean and had most things necessary. The beds were very comfortable and we had no problem with noise apart from one night with people above us and that was not for long. There was plenty of parking and it was certainly good value. Only problem was one double bed and what appeared to be a sofa bed as a single, not the twin room I was expecting. It meant there was no real sitting area.
Did not like having to choose breakfast as I arrived after a long day and in future would find somewhere else. It was OK and reasonable value but I would like the option of what I require on the day. Overall good value especially at the really low price, odd the same room is more than twice as expensive one night but I suppose that's demand

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground floor at the back, no noise problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 October 2011

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a great one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
722 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
380 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £44 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing