We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfy Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Always stay at this hotel if it has a room free! Very welcoming staff, the bedrooms and bathrooms are always very clean and it's a lovely touch that when they make up your room they tuck the children's teddies into their bedsheets. Cleaners don't clatter around in the mornings either. There is a TGI Friday's attached so be prepared for a bit of late night lairiness on a weekend night, but it's generally in good humour and doesn't go on too late.

Room Tip: On the front is a carpark to the restaurant, at the back there is a railway line - would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are delighted you have shared such positive feedback, thank you. The whole team will be happy to hear the positive comments regarding their service as we strive to ensure we offer the best possible service and experience to every guest. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    250
    111
    29
    13
See reviews for
149
239
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Usual Premier Inn standard, very comfy bed etc. Staff very friendly and helpful about bus services etc. We were too warm with the duvet so asked the chamber maid if we could have a sheet. When we got back to our room the sheet had been added and the duvet folded on the bottom of the bed. The location isn't ideal, i.e. you can't really walk into Cheltenham for dinner but the bus stop is very close to the hotel, the buses are frequent and only take about 10 minutes. We would stay here again. TGI Friday's is not somewhere we would usually eat but the place was "jumping", staff friendly and food ok for fast food.

Room Tip: We had a front room that faced the carpark,TGI Friday's & the main road. We didn't fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a good one and glad to hear you will visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The room was up to usual Premier Inn standards and the staff helpful. Railway not a problem. What we didn't like was having to go across the car park to TGI Friday for food and bar facilities. Our first visit didn't last long, not helped by being seated alongside a chidrens' party and with a barbeque type menu. We therefore moved on. A late visit to the bar and for a snack was much better with very good, friendly, attention from the staff. The breakfast food was fine although it was very busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you found the hotel to be of the usual Premier Inn standard. All feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again. Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Premier Inn side of the operation was very slick. Efficient check in and helpful staff.

The room looked to have been newly decorated and had a very large flatscreen TV on the wall with Freeview channels. It was of the standard you would expect of a Premier Inn.

My only criticism would be that the temperature control unit seemed to have a mind of it's own. The room was at the back near the railway line - I kept the window open so you could hear the trains althought they obviously stopped over-night,

The TGI Friday was less good - as going in for a late dinner nobody seemed interested in seating me and the breakfast was not quite as advertised with no youghurts or crossaints.

Room Tip: Rooms at front would be better as they do not face the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHertsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you found the hotel to be of the usual Premier Inn standard. Your feedback regarding TGI Fridays will be passed on to the Manager as we continue to work together to resolve any issues raised. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visited here for a one night stay one in march 2013

I think its looks a bit dated around the reception area myself however room was nice
Big car park good as it seems to get very busy from what we could see

Pub attached to the hotel food was very good and the staff very pleasant

Would use it again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klmofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a good one and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice hotel, the people on reception were very friendly. I work away a lot so the TGI was a nice change instead of a Brewers Fayre, Beefeater etc. The room was big and clean but the main problem for me was having no phone signal. It was so frustrating and I know it would be for most people too. I spoke to the receptionist about it and she said its bad for signal all over the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cheltenham Central. I apologise you had problems getting a phone signal; the area can be bad with different networks. Although I am unsure of what floor you were on, you may find it better on the top floor if you do stay with us again. Thank you again as all feedback is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were looking for a base for a couple of day’s leisure visiting in the Cheltenham area: I had stayed at the Cheltenham Central Premier Inn on business trips a number of times and
decided to go for somewhere I knew.

The room was much as expected at a PI - spacious, well equipped (although no phone) and clean. Large, very comfortable bed. Large screen TV and reasonably well lit. The bathroom had
the usual quirks - it took time to work out the best setting for the shower and the press button loo flush was something that wasn't easy to master. The PI web site warns of noise from the adjacent railway - we were not at all disturbed by it.

Reception staff didn't quite seem to reach the usual PI standard: on arrival we weren’t told of the Goodnight Guarantee - possibly they knew I had been a regular visitor in the
past so thought they didn't need to mention it. We were also not advised at time of arrival
to book a table at the adjacent TGI - later when we wanted to eat we were told there was a half hour wait. Also they didn't check back with us later that we had no problems with the
room - possibly the lack of phones in rooms at this PI make that more difficult than
elsewhere.

The noise at the TGI was off putting too. I knew there was a chip shop near the station
(where there is also a Chinese takeaway, and Co-op and Tesco mini supermarkets) so on our
first night we opted for fish and chips. The second night we wandered into Montpelier (20
minute or so walk) where we found a Strada and had an excellent Pizza: returning to the
hotel we saw, through the window of TGI's, a couple, possibly in their 70, sat in the
noise, clearly hating it. They may well have been PI guests and felt they had no choice
other to eat there.

As well as the shops by the station there is a Shell petrol station next door that does
good sandwiches, and drinks cheaper there than in the machine in the hotel reception.
Breakfast on our first morning was chaotic - a large party went in at the very start, by
the time we got there at 8.15 the staff were rushed off their feet and many of the food options were running low - coffee, in particular, ran out very quickly. The staff didn't
seem to be organised to cope with it. We hadn't wanted a cooked option so made do with what was available and then headed off for the day.

All in all, two nights B&B for two for under £150 was reasonable value, and the issues with
the meals have to be considered as not surprising for the price. If you can cope with the
Slightly chaotic breakfast and the noise in TGI's for an evening meal (or are happy to eat
elsewhere) it's an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Cheltenham Central Premier Inn. All feedback is very much appreciated as we continue to strive towards the best possible service. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing